Skip to content

Old Ad Men are Mad Men …

July 7, 2010

One of my all time favorite shows is about to start it’s fourth season on July 25th and I couldn’t be more pumped.  Mad Men is not only about a time period and subject that I love but it is so well written and just pretty to watch!

One of my favorite things about the show is the dynamic between men and women. I know this is a “drama” and things are probably more blown out of proportion but it seems to have some truth. I came across these Sexist ads this week and thought some were too funny not to share:

Here are some other hilarious old ads. Can you believe that this was acceptable?

I majored in Marketing and have always loved the advertising. I think it’s interesting how a little bit of knowledge can change a picture into an ad and how little it takes to make someone want something.

Albie and I re-watched the pilot episode of Mad Men and part of it’s main plot was in the story line that Reader’s Digest came out and said that Cigarettes were bad for you.  Don Draper has to figure out a way to sell Lucky Stripes anyway, cancer and all.  Finding that Santa ad for Lucky Stripes made me laugh because that’s just the sort of thing Don and his colleges at Sterling Cooper would have come up with.

But anyone who watches Mad Men will tell you, the drama and ads are only PART of the show – the fashion deserves it’s own blog post… more to come…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 5:34 pm

    Those are hysterical! I am tempted to order prints and frame them around the kitchen. It would be so tongue and cheek at our house since I am definitely the worst cook between me and my husband.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

