Skip to content

Pinterest Recipes Come to Life…

November 8, 2011

Lately I have been trying to actually cook some of those yummy looking recipes I have been pinning on my Pinterest food board.

  • Spicy Sausage Dip: Very good and simple. Not sure why they show it with Ritz – this is most definitely a scoops/ corn chips kind of dip. Albie and I made this for dinner one night he was in town and I was actually able to eat for dinner a few more nights that week. Very easy to reheat in the microwave.

Source: annies-eats.net via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • Creamy Italian Chicken: My first crock pot recipe! Woohoo! This one is again very simple but I even felt brave enough to play with the flavors a bit so it had  lot of flavor for us.

    In addition to what it called for I added red pepper flakes, white wine and other “Italian-y” flavors. We put it on rice and I ate it for lunch 3 days one week without getting sick of it or running out.

Source: forkinit.blogspot.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cookies: These were good but not cheesecake-y enough for me. I think I wanted chunks of the flavor but it’s more just an over all good cookie. These were by far the best looking cookies I’ve ever made, they were flat and crunchy at all so I think it’s still a solid recipe.

Source: None via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • Chili Cream Cheese Dip: This one I would pair with the Fritos like it has pictured but this one was missing something to me. Can’t really put my finger on it… maybe cheddar cheese? not sure. Yummy but something was missing.

Source: None via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • Strawberry and Cream Stuffed French Toast: I made this over the summer when stawberries were cheap and in season and this was GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD. Like beyond yummy. I did cheat and use normal white bread which was dumb because it needs thicker bread. I also am not a fan of warm fruit (I’m weird.) so if the strawberries were too big then I took them out but the flavors were perfect!

Source: inncuisine.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • New York Time’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies: Meh.  Besides the overwhelming amount butter (2.5 sticks!) these were pretty average. For such a bold title I expected more.

Source: iammommy.typepad.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

  • Pizza Bites: I made these by my self one night and they last a few meals. Very simple and delicious again. I’ve made a lot of different types of “pizza rolls” or “pepperoni rolls” but these are my favorite right now and I really think it’s the “topping” of Olive oil, flavors and cheese. Totally made the perfect finish!

Source: penniesonaplatter.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

 I have to admit – I’m still figuring out when to double check a recipe against other sites and then taste part way through to see what adjustments need to be made. Albie is always reminding me that before we take food anywhere to serve to other people we have to have made it at home first and tried it so we know how to make it better next time.So that’s why I’ve been doing appetizer/ dips/ cookies – those are good go-to ideas and I want to have a good stash of them just in case!

Have y’all cooked anything off Pinterest?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 9:48 am

    Wow! You’ve been cooking up a storm – I feel inspired. And those pepperoni bights look awesome; I may have to try them…today.

    • November 8, 2011 9:48 am

      bights? What in the world??? bites, obviously.

    • Katie permalink*
      November 8, 2011 1:38 pm

      Ha that post was deciding! I think some of those I cooked back in June and was just saving them for one big post. I am the opposite of cooking up a storm right now! But you should cook some and tell me what you make!

      Love those pictures of your sweet girl! Hate that you had to miss that UNC game this past weekend!

  2. November 8, 2011 10:51 am

    That cream cheese chili dip is a staple at family gatherings in my family! Except we make it with no beans, eat it with tortilla chips, and in later years learned that it was best with a few hard hits of Texas Pete. Also, we always knew it by the name “Awesome Dip.” Seriously, haha.

    • Katie permalink*
      November 8, 2011 1:41 pm

      My husband did add hot sauce to his portion and really liked it. We also made it without the beans and I think that’s the best way – I’m just NOT a fan of beans in my chili or my “awesome dip”!

  3. November 8, 2011 4:52 pm

    I am so impressed at your cooking habits! I haven’t attempted to cook something new (other then the NYT cookies, which we talked about) in so long!

  4. November 8, 2011 11:33 pm

    I have been thinking about trying out those pepperoni bites. I’m going to move that to the top of my list if they’re good! Making anything gluten-free is always an adventure in and of itself. I made the spinach chicken dip last night from my menu monday. It’s AMAZING if you need a quick dish for something. Seriously so so good! My husband bragged about it to his work friends which made my whole life. :) Also–I can’t believe you made the strawberry french toast. That looks insane good!!

  5. lindsey permalink
    November 9, 2011 9:11 am

    1- I LOVE the crockpot- let me know if you want a few other awesome recipes that are staples in our house.
    2- I’ve made the pizza bites before too.. YUM-O.
    3- C says the same thing about trying things before serving to others!

    I’m so happy you’re trying so many great things!! How fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Menu Monday | Southern Elegance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

