Skip to content

Poppyseed Chicken…

October 9, 2009

Thursday Nights Albie participates in a bowling league, which leaves little ol’me to figure out what to fix for dinner.

I try to use this chance to cook something new or different. I don’t want to get over my head in what I know how to do, but I think I have gotten pretty good at getting what I need, putting it in a dish and cooking it all in time for Albie to come home from bowling.

Because I am the PICKIEST eater alive and have very little ability in the kitchen people seem to be impressed when I cook a dinner that interests Albie.  So I am going to start sharing some of the recipes that I make here on my little blog.

Note: No recipe I ever post is original and by me, this one in particular came from Natalie who got it from Meredith College. But it’s delish and makes fantastic leftovers!

Poppyseed Chicken:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts ( or less)
  • 8 oz container of sour cream
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • Half a bag of Egg Noodles
  • 1 pack of ritz crackers
  • poppy seeds
  • butter
  • glass casserole dish

Boil chicken breasts until fully done and cooked.

Cook 1/2 bag of Egg noodles with the instructions on the bag.

Mix sour cream and cream of chicken soups together into mixture. Crumble package of crackers into small pieces. Melt half a stick of butter in the microwave.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Chop chicken into large chunks into the casserole dish and add to the bowl with sour cream and soup mixture, stir together so everything is one big creamy mixture.

Soups, Sour Cream, and Chicken

Soups, Sour Cream, and Chicken

Put egg noodles in the bottom of the dish, pour chicken mixture all over top thickly coating it then sprinkle cracker pieces all over the top.

Pour melted butter evenly over crackers. Sprinkle poppy seeds all over.

Bake 30 minutes, until crackers are golden brown.

In the oven!!

In the oven!!

No kidding- It’s that easy. We always put some form of green veggie on the side and at the end of the meal put the dinner away in lots of ‘meal sized’ containers so that they are easy to grab for lunches.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 10:10 pm

    while the outcome didn’t look that bad the photo of on the way to the outcome looked “not-so-good”,, thanks for sharing the recipe I will give it a try! Love you — mom

Leave a Reply

