Skip to content

Chicken Cordon-Bleu…

October 28, 2009

One of my favorite dinners ever is the wonderful frozen version of the french dish “Chicken Cordon Bleu”! My mom always ordered them freshly frozen from the Schwan’s delivery guy and they are to this day my favorite!!

Delicious chicken cordon bleu

Delicious Schwan's Chicken Cordon Bleu

But in an interest to learn to cook I wanted to make them for dinner so I tried to find the easiest recipe possible that was still similar to what I loved.

Easy Homemade Chicken Cordon Bleu:

Note: Recipe below is for a single but make as many as you want.

  • 1/2 chicken breast, boneless & skinless
  • 1 thin slice ham
  • 1 slice Swiss cheese
  • 1 c. bread crumbs ( I used Italian Bread Crumbs for a little extra flavor)
  • 1 egg, beaten
Pound chicken breast between Saran Wrap until thin. Put ham and Swiss cheese on top and roll up. Secure with tooth picks.
IMG_9693

All set up ready to go!

Dip in egg and coat with herb seasoned bread crumbs. Brown in oil on all sides.
IMG_9704

Browning in Olive Oil

Finish cooking in the over on a cookie sheet for about 30 minutes at 350.
IMG_9711

Finished Product!

Notes: To save on money a little I just went to the deli counter and asked for exactly 5 slices of Swiss cheese and 5 slices of ham – I spent a total of $1.75 on the inner stuff.

For the future I would probably buy twice as much cheese because I love cheese and because I think they are supposed to be gooey, and they were delicious but not gooey.

We served with salad and rice on the side. Start to finish this probably took me right at an hour but that’s because I hadn’t ever “browned” anything in oil before and I made a terrible mess when I … well lets just say it was the first and last time I make that mistake again :)

IMG_9715

Finley (complete with napkin on his head) Begging for Some Chicken Cordon Bleu

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 2:55 pm

    I don’t know if it needs more cheese, maybe just a little stronger cheese. White American or a combination of Swiss and White American might do the trick.

  2. November 2, 2009 8:59 am

    The Schwan’s Guy made life great! You guys loved alot of his food, and it kept the grease from flying around the kitchen! I would highly recommend giving it a try for those busy football weeks!!

Leave a Reply

