Skip to content

Apple Pie ( Crust and All!) …

November 13, 2009

At the end of October, Denise (here at work) had this cute idea that all the girls in the office should change up the coaches’ routine of having BBQ every Monday night for dinner and that we should make them a good homemade meal.

So Denise made 2 types of Chili and Natalie made some Cornbread muffins along with all the toppings of Chili and I was in charge of dessert.

Dessert for this staff is actually quite challenging since there is a nice fan who brings us something delicious and homemade every Wednesday during the season, AND on people’s birthdays we always get big cakes! So In an effort to make something original and branch out a bit I decided to make an Apple Pie!

Note: In the interest of being honest – I don’t like pie. Something about warm fruit freaks me out. Albie? He LOVES pie. He loves all kind of pie. When I first told him I didn’t like pie I thought he was going to fall right out of his chair. But somehow our relationship still works.

So… Apple Pie it is. Crust and All! Where did I start? My new favorite cooking website of course! (OurBestBites.com) I made one pie to practice for Albie before the one that would be needed for the coaches so my pictures aren’t beautiful – but it works and Albie ate it all up so that must mean it was good!

Note: I’ll list the ingredients and pictures below but the original website does a really good job of explaining with better pictures.

IMG_9877

My Ingredients all ready to start!

Pie Crust: ( Link to the Recipe)

  • 1 1/4c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c.+ 1 Tbsp. butter-flavored shortening
  • Ice water (probably about 1/4 c.)

Note: It says to double the recipe if you plan on making a top to the pie. I didn’t see that so I had to double back – it’s much easier when you just double it from the start.

I will say that people looked at me like I was crazy when I told them I made the WHOLE pie from scratch. But this recipe is not hard and not scary. I can’t speak from experience with the pre-made pie dough versus this recipe but I can’t imagine doing a pie another way.

Apple Pie: (Link to the Recipe)

  • 6 cups peeled, sliced Granny Smith apples (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, chopped
IMG_9883

Before I did the top - yummy looking huh?

IMG_9887

Ready for the oven!

Note: Start to finish (Crust, cutting and peeling apples , all the way through baking) It took about 2.5 hours. If you have help with the apples it could go a lot faster but I wanted the experience so I didn’t ask for help.

We also couldn’t wait to try it the first time around so we only let it cool for about 1 hour before cutting into it. :)

IMG_9894

Me and my Pie :)

Any suggestions on what I should learn to bake next?

Leave a Reply

