Skip to content

Christmas Gifts (Baking Style)…

December 23, 2009

Every Christmas I feel like there are a ton of people (ahem! Coaches) that I need to remember and give a little something but I can never think of ANYTHING! I work with them every day ( Literally every day: I just had my first full day off since Nov. 22nd on Dec. 18th!) and I enjoy working with them, but that still doesn’t change the fact that there are 10+ male coaches and staff that I want to share Christmas with!

So that brings me to the simple saying “A way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” because I decided to bake some fun easy desserts for them this year.

I started with some cute tins (because I hear football coaches care about cute Christmas tins) some wax paper and some super simple recipes that I have made before and at least tried before!

1. Chocolate Pretzel Turtles:

  • Small pretzels
  • Rollos
  • M&M’s

Bake pretzels and rollos in oven at 350 for 3 minutes on wax paper (just so they are soft) then gently mush an M&M on the top to flatten them just a bit. Cool in the fridge.

The begining stages of Chocolate Pretzel Turtles

Cute little finished Turtles

2. Puppy Chow:

  • Rice Chex Cereal
  • Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Powdered sugar
  • Butter
  • Vanilla

Melt Chocolate chips, butter and peanut butter together and stir in to rice chex cereal so that it is coated (warning it’s “warm” or as i call it “hot” and it hurts if you use your hands). Pour gooey rice chex into a large paper bag and shake up with powdered sugar. Cool in the fridge on wax paper.

Puppy Chow

3. Chocolate Saltine Cookies:

  • Saltines
  • Butter
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate Chips

Lay out saltines on cookie sheet (wax paper will save your life and your cookie sheet) . Melt and mix together butter, sugar and vanilla to pour over and coat the saltines. Bake at 350 for 8 minutes. Melt chocolate chips until they are easy to spread all over the saltines. Let cool int he fridge and then break off in large pieces. Best served cold.

Fridge was full so the front porch worked well for cooling!

So here are my cute tins for the coaching staff:

Assembling Process

Off to work with my goodies!

Note: I included the links to each recipe if you want to try them but my mom is also claiming these are original recipes so don’t tell her that everyone has these recipes. If she makes them for you too just tell her that hers are the best! :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

