Skip to content

Squirtle the Turtle…

February 2, 2010
tags:

Squirtle, this is the blog world. Blog world, this Squirtle, my 13 year old yellow bellied pond slider.

After my family tree post on Friday, I realized (thanks to Becky!) that people may think we are a tiny family of three when in fact there are 4 of us! So this is your formal introduction to Squirtle the turtle:

My brother, Greg, got Squirtle as a 6th birthday gift in Myrtle Beach (it is illegal to buy or sell turtles in NC). Greg named him Squirtle after a Pokemon character, yes Pokemon. (Greg even tried to change his name when it was time for him to “morph”. Needless to say the whole family vetoed that one.)

Squirtle was very much a part of the Anthony Family and when I was a sophomore in college Greg decided to give him to me for my birthday. Junior year Squirtle came to live at school with me and then slowly I was able to upgrade Squirtle’s tank from 10 gallons to 40 gallons.

Shortly after coming to live in Raleigh, Squirtle stopped eating. After a few vet trips and failed attempts to help him want to eat we had an x-ray done. (Yes, I did an x-ray on my turtle.)

As you can see, we found lots of little pebbles in his belly. He had been eating them out of the bottom of his tank and since he was “full” he didn’t feel the need to eat. So the vet (Avian & Exotic Animal Care)  helped me with the solution which sadly involved doing a little surgery and placing a feeding tube on my sweet little turtle.

The process was long and very gross, involving the need to monitor his pooping schedule and keep the tank VERY clean, but he finally got better! And after an obscene amount of money and removing EVERY little pebble out of the bottom of the tank he was back to our happy swimming self.

Squirtle lives in the office now and he loves when people come to visit. He eats pellet turtle food and suns himself on his little rock. He and Finley are best buds, Finley actually doesn’t even notice Squirtle unless we take him out of the tank to walk around but in his old age he doesn’t do that much any more. Once I find pictures of Finley and Squirtle meeting for the first time I will post them.

Old picture of his tank before the pebbles were taken out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    February 2, 2010 11:19 am

    oh, i just LOVE squirtle the turtle! thanks for sharing!!!

  2. February 3, 2010 7:01 am

    One of my favorite things to do when Squirtle was a young turtle and the kids was at school was to go into Greg’s room and visit him and slip him a little extra food and say hi! He would always be really glad to see Grandma coming! Kind of like Finley now!! Love my little Squirtle!! And Katie is such a good mom.

Leave a Reply

