Skip to content

Constantina…

March 2, 2010
tags:

Scene: Friday night, Birthday dinner on the water in Wrightsville Beach, nice conversation over some Lobster Bisque and cocktails…

My Mother: You know Katie, there is something I have been wanting to talk to you about

Me: Ok??

My Mother: I am thinking it’s time for us to take Constantina down and maybe for you take her home.

Me: What? Who is Constantina? Oh wait… my wedding dress?

My mother: (now with tears in her eyes) Yes, I think it’s maybe time. But maybe you should get her preserved.

Albie: Wait? What? How much does that cost

Me and My Mother: I don’t know between 100 and 250 dollars

Albie: (Now with tears in his eyes) I don’t think I’ll ever get a new car.

-End Scene, ordered another glass of wine-

So that is the story of how my wedding gown made two people,  not me, cry 10 months afterward. I am not by any means unsentimental but I think I can safely agree that I am ok to put the dress away.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 5:25 pm

    I have to do something with my dress too, my mother mentioned it at Christmas, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. I think I’ll set a goal to do it before the end of the month. Good luck and let me know how you make out.

  2. March 3, 2010 1:59 pm

    That’s some nice revisionist history there. I asked how much it cost, and (after some gloating about the price of the dress) no one could tell me how much preservation cost.

    I assumed the dodge on a price quote meant that preserving a dress cost substantially more than a garment bag from Target. THEN I proceeded to weep THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  3. March 6, 2010 11:56 pm

    I am not really sure your blog indicates that “Constantina” has had the place of honor hanging from the Armoire in my Master bedroom for nearly a year, and she is well worth it, she is a work of art. Treasured, as you are, and I will miss her. But as your first anniversary is approaching, and the Citadel boys are coming for the Azalea Festival, I am thinking she may need to go home with youf for safe keeping . As much as I want her to live with me forever! (And I think if Albie would avoid even a $20 garmet bag he could) Love you.

Leave a Reply

