Skip to content

Thanks for Reading…

March 3, 2010

Sometimes I wish I had made an anonymous blog.

Lately I feel like there is stuff that I want to spew all over the internet. Today that topic is work.  period. I’ll leave it at that because I, well I have to.

This past week a few of my favorite blogs have been making pretty big statements about privacy on blogs. One of my favorite blogs, Make Mine a Mojito, decided to take a break for ??? time because of some poor tasted commenters. Blue Eyed Bride, another one of my favorites, had a post about privacy and blogging that also got me thinking:

I started this blog for fun on Blogger then moved it to another site last August then it got hacked and destroyed (i will not admit to maybe possibly crying). Finally in September I started back up over here on wordpress. I have loved wordpress for a bunch of reasons but one of them is that I get to check my “Stats”.

My Stats tell me a bunch of information like how many views a day I get then I can have it break that down into weeks or months to see my viewership (made up word?)  grow.  But I also get to see where people are coming from and what links people click on. I will admit that I look at my stats more then I look at my work email sometimes because it really has fascinated me at how many people come to see me say not a whole lot about my little Finley and our life.

I started blogging as a way to openly keep a journal of my newlywed life (pretty sure I plan on always being a newlywed) and maybe treat it like a scrapbook of sorts. So, although I can’t be completely honest about somethings that are bothering me because of the openness I created, I also am really enjoying the openness and the opportunity to meet new people.

Bottom line? Thanks for reading, I like knowing you’re out there :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 12:20 pm

    I can relate to being amazed at how people arrive at a blog. Keep up the interesting writing.

  2. March 3, 2010 8:55 pm

    ditto slamdunk. one of the most popular google search topics that get people to my blog is “is michael kors gay?”. LOL. i had my blog for a good 6 months before i even told my BFF…sometimes i wish i hadn’t told any of my friends!

  3. Clemens permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:33 pm

    Haha, Katie.
    Do you also get a statistic of viewers by country? I guess I won’t be able to read your blog anonymously any longer ;-)

    • KatieALange permalink*
      March 5, 2010 9:29 am

      Clemens! I love that I have Austrians reading my blog!

  4. March 6, 2010 11:40 pm

    I am listening and enjoying, you are an awesome observer of the world around you, thank you for sharing, it is a nugget of humanity.

  5. March 7, 2010 8:53 am

    I understand your conflict over whether or not to make your blog anonymous. I had three different blogs over the years under an “online” personality; it’s only during the last few months I’ve been using my real name. I have to say I appreciate using my real identity; and in retrospect, now that I think about it, there was no reason for me to not use it before, as I never wrote about things that would compromise my work.

    Don’t stress too much about the stats. Write regularly, communicate with your audience, give them something to participate in, and your readers will come. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

