Skip to content

Baby Proof…

March 15, 2010
tags: , ,

I recently read “Baby Proof” by Emily Griffin and I really enjoyed it!

Without giving too much away, it’s basically a story of a married couple in their mid-thirties who do not want children, ever. One of them changes their mind and the book moves forward from there.

This book definitely gave me interesting things to think about:

Albie and I have our fur kid and we will definitely be adopting another fur kid in the next few years. That’s the extent of expanding our family. For now.

It’s not that Albie and I never want to have children but as we come up on our first year anniversary I am getting the “when” and “how many” questions with more frequency. I always get kind of irritated because a) it’s really no ones business and b) hello! I just turned 25, whats the big rush?? Can’t we just enjoy us for a little while? And yes, we enjoy being selfish with our Saturday mornings, Tuesday date nights, last minute weekend trips out of town, and drinking. I am sure some of these things can continue and by gosh we are going to to try to keep them, but for now we are content.

But I think it’s so interesting that everyone has an opinion on this pretty personal stuff. Just because I say someone else’s child is cute or I hold a baby does not mean it’s ok to ask me when I will have one of my own.

I am sure every newlywed couple has had this question asked and while I am still trying to figure out a polite response I am at least thankful that Albie and I are on the same page and that’s all that really matters.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:33 am

    haha – i feel the same way and we’re not even married yet. when people ask, just be like, “we hate kids.”

  2. March 15, 2010 2:56 pm

    i hear ya sister! hubby and i will be married for 1 year this May, and I swear I get the “when are you going to start trying for kids” question at least once or twice a month! sooooooo annoying!

  3. sunmakesmesmile permalink
    May 4, 2011 6:58 pm

    I loved this book also, and her others (which, by catching up on all the parts of your blog I’ve missed I see you’ve read). Other than “ditto, ditto, ditto,” I love how people would ask me when I was going to have kids, be a mommy, etc. while I was looking around going, ” Who’s going to be the dad? Is he here? I certainly don’t see one.” Okay, I didn’t actually say that, but I certainly thought that, and much much more. People really just don’t know when to keep their questions to themselves sometimes.

Leave a Reply

