Skip to content

New Blog Title…

April 13, 2010

For a while now, I have been going back and forth between feeling like the title of my blog (Finley’s Little Family)  hadn’t really said anything about me/ or the blog. It had no real meaning to me.

My blog isn’t always about us, our little family, it’s not written from Finley’s point of view, nor does it really focus on Finley.  This blog tends to be about whatever is on my mind that particular day, something that’s bothering me, or something I like. I do give “family updates” and this is totally a personal blog over a “design blog” or  a “wedding blog” etc. So I felt like my title should be something unique and descriptive without being dumb.

It was with these thoughts that I started tossing around blog titles to which Albie would almost always respond “LAME” or he would simply roll his eyes. He made the point that most of the blogs I enjoy are not labeled by their title. They tend to be made up of descriptive words, quotes, statements and adjectives.

Without further adieu let me introduce you to my new blog Title:

Oui, Bien Sur!

{We, Been Sure!}

I chose my title for a few reasons, first because I love French. I took it for six years and despite my honest desire to know the language, at this point I probably only know how to count to fifty, and a few basic sayings. Oui, Bien Sur means “Yes of course” but in our fancy American accents it sounds like we are saying “We, Been Sure!”

This title means more to me than a saying from a language I can’t remember 90% of.  When spelled out phonetically it does describe Albie and I, We have been sure; We have been sure since we started dating back in 2001 in high school. We were sure we when we met Finley and wanted to adopt him, and we were sure when we wanted to “live in sin” before the wedding.

While the new title has the literal French translation, and the crazy Southern American accent pronunciation it’s the mental translation that helped me to know that this was my new title.

What does my new title mean for you? Nothing. Your bookmark titles should change automatically and the web address will stay the same.  If you link to me from your blog (thanks by the way!) then you may need to update that.

Hang in there while I work with the fonts, and the header to make it pretty.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    August 22, 2010 9:01 am

    Ah! Bonjour! Comment t’il vous? Je vais tres bien, merci. Je parle un peu francais, mais j’aime la langue aussi! Au revoir madame.

    Rachel

    • Katie permalink*
      August 23, 2010 7:25 am

      So funny, I can read that perfectly but spent 20 minutes trying to type my own response back in French without using a translator! I think I need to brush up just a wee bit! Thanks for stopping by!

      • Rachel permalink
        August 23, 2010 10:23 am

        Oh, I’m glad you could read it ok! I didn’t use a translator either, and sometimes I worry I’m not writing correctly! So, as long as we understand each other, that is good!

Trackbacks

  1. True Life: I’m a Fluff Blogger… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

