Skip to content

An Ode to Bangs…

May 19, 2010

For whatever reason, I grew up with … bangs.  Yes, I am ashamed to admit I had the awkward hair of the 80’s and 90’s. Not necessarily the “big” 80’s hair everyone remembers, but I had one of the classic traits of those hair styles: Bangs.

Let me produce some photographic evidence:

This picture is proof that I let someone other than my self touch my hair. (MOM, I’m looking at you!) And despite me never having been apart of or fan of anything with Farrah Fawcett, I some how had the feathered hair style down pat. Please Note that the duckies on my turtle neck add to my general stylishness.

As evidenced by the above photo, I have indeed always had my knack for wearing impeccably matching outfits and accessorizing them well. The shirt not only matches the shorts and the shoes seem to be the same color as the mini flowers, but I wore said outfit while Fishing. But back to the bangs; They start about half way back on my head and do what my hair does now: nothing. My hair lays flat when others have bought emergency frizz control and this picture should show that nicely.

Okay,here I am pictured readying herself for a Jazz class (the dance type not the music) and still match extremely well (black socks to match the shirt and flowered dance shorts) I seem to have pulled my hair back with a fun hair bow and yet the bangs… yep. There they are.

Last but not least is the cheerleading phase of my bangs. This should also be known as the beginning of the end. I have now determined a start to the bangs instead of letting them be cut like a bowl was placed on my head to use as guideline.  Although these bangs are much less awkward than the others I like this picture because it shows me taking control of that terrible phase.

Pictures after here lead to the “I am growing out my bangs” phase that most teens go through. And although bangs are hugely popular again (and many people can wear them perfectly!)  I will not be revisiting the look. Years of traumatic hair days, mornings getting up to curl them before school, and then the awful time it took to grow them out will never be duplicated.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 6:26 am

    I happen to think the first photo is one of the most beautiful of this hair phase! And your hair was no easy thing to deal with, getting the knots out, and you being tender headed — having to buy silk to make a silk pillow case to try to keep the knots out before the ritual crying session of combing each morning before preschool in order to get any kind of product was a trauma drama for you my precious child. Love your favorite hair dresser. Mom

Leave a Reply

