Skip to content

Small Kitchen Disasters …

June 10, 2010

Maybe it’s because I have gotten a little more confidence in the kitchen or maybe it’s because I’m trying new recipes with more regularity… but for whatever reason, I feel like nothing is coming out right!

Here is a quick summary of how much I have been screwing up in the kitchen recently:

  • Brined the hell out of some pork chops before putting them on the grill, Apple glaze was delicious though … just didn’t mesh with the salty flavors.
  • Tried a Campbell’s recipe that I thought sounded super easy. It was, it just had NO flavor.
  • I am on my 3rd recipe out of my cupcake cookbook. This book has adorable ideas and yummy SOUNDING recipes but something about the end result isn’t working for me. They end up too dry.

  • In an effort to not buy things we didn’t need and use up things in the freezer we substituted hot Italian sausage for andouille in jambalaya we made last week. Andouille is not to be substituted. We missed it’s delicious flavors.
  • Also, when a recipe calls for “heavy cream” is that whipping cream or half & Half?? I just don’t know. And I wont even tell you how many recipes have died because of this error in judgment.

And here are some tips that I have learned through other kitchen errors.  Feel free to laugh at me. I did.

  • When thawing out chicken it is not a good idea to put them in water then set the bowl outside because it’s “warm” and they will “thaw faster”. Yes. They will – to the point where you have essentially started to boil them.
  • When a recipe calls for “Milk Chocolate” to be melted and mixed with some cream and other ingredients to pour over some Peanut butter then put in the fridge to harden, do you think it was a good idea to use Chocolate SYRUP as a short cut??? Yeah, it wasn’t.
  • Always read ahead. Just because you see”4 cups” and then the word “flour” doesn’t mean they were on the same line of the recipe. Read and then re-read.

We’ve tried some good recipes too but they aren’t anything earth shattering. What have y’all tried recently that did or didn’t work for you in the kitchen?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 1:12 pm

    I always find that guests think they want to eat light, but they really enjoy my cooking because I use heavy cream and never substitute for light cream cheese, the flavors do change. You can always call when you have a question, I may not know the answer, but I will give it a try and maybe save a few chickens from boiling in the sun, sun is good for making sweet tea though! Love you baby! I do have a website to recommend –cakewrecks.com I think you and your readers will enjoy.

  2. Dad permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:34 am

    Check your oven temperature with a good thermometer (can find at Target). It may be running hot. I bake at a lower and shorter temp than recommended all the time. Check with tooth pick several times the last 10 minutes. At the first sign of not sticking it is to late and will be over done and dry. Got to catch it just as the last bit of mix is just sticking to the toothpick. It will cook when out of the oven for 5 more minutes from the heat of the pan.

    Use your mind to taste the combinations before you try a recipe … salt and apples … should be a red flag. Soup needs to be sampled several times and usually 1/2 hour after adding spices … things tend to get stronger in sauces and soups after cooking for a while. Be careful with the salt!! (one of my normal boo-boos) Oh and yes only add one spice at a time .. Three spices “off the cuff” will kill a good meal. Just my thoughts.

Trackbacks

  1. Sugar Coma… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

