Skip to content

Adding a Little Ikea to our Lives …

June 22, 2010

While we in the Charlotte area for a wedding a few weeks ago, we took the chance to see what all the fuss was about with Ikea.

I had been to a store YEARS ago but didn’t really remember anything about it. Albie had never been and after visiting their website I had pretty much decided everything was too modern for me.  But we went anyway

And I might have to say that I loved it! Not all of it mind you, but most of it!

I wasn’t a fan of the beds (too low to the ground and not interesting enough for me) or the entertainment centers but I was a HUGE fan of the kitchens and the models of the tiny homes.

Ikea seems to have the market cornered on awesome solutions for saving space, or using it more effectively. This idea worked in their regular sized kitchens as well as tiny “example homes” that ranged from about 600 square feet to just a few hundred.

Walking around though, we were realistic: We were 3 hours from home driving a Civic. We didn’t need to buy some pretty modern Swedish furniture that would look awkward in our American home. But we couldn’t leave empty handed could we? So we got some pot/lid organizers, cutting board racks and 2 new cutting boards. All for under 20 bucks.

Here is our before and after:

Before

After

So it’s not drastically different but it makes matching up lids and putting things away a LOT better. (Because lets face it, the only reason my before looked like that at all was because I knew I was going to take a picture.)

So while we will probably mostly use Ikea for their organizing solutions and possibly Kitchen designs, they do have some great stuff and you could spend HOURS walking around their store.  We found them incredible reasonably priced and the food was delish too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 10:50 am

    I need to get one of those pan lid holders for my cabinets too. Ya know, when I lived in WA I used to whine all the time about how there was no IKEA near me and now that there is one 15 minutes away I never go! I need to make sure I remedy that.

Leave a Reply

