Skip to content

Beach Living…

July 25, 2010

In the summer you can’t help but think about living at the beach. (Don’t lie to me, I know you do.) But since I grew up at the beach thinking about living there is a little more realistic. Eventually we will probably end up back there because it’s hard not to find the laid back life style addicting and totally awesome.

But in the mean time I get to thinking about ACTUAL beach living. Like “oh wow that multi-million dollar ocean front home is NICE!” but can’t help thinking that I wouldn’t want it even if I lived there. Crazy right?

So after wasting entirely too much time thinking about this matter I have decided that I would want a Beach Cottage.

I would want maybe 3 bedrooms tops. I will need a shower outside to rinse your feet off, a good solid front porch to great visitors then an even bigger back porch to enjoy cocktails on. You need to be able to come inside with sandy feet and be able to sit on the couch while you’re still a bit damp. The kitchen needs to be big and open with lots of windows (preferably with a view).  I would need a yard with grass, and lots of big ol’ trees to shade the house in the summer. But my biggest rule about living at the beach is that we would need to live in the house year round. We would be “locals” again.

Here is my inspiration:

The master bedroom in the house above

Billy Joel's humble beach cottage

Again with Billy Joel's stunning Beach Cottage

But I could go on all day (seriously I have a whole folder on my desk top dedicated to this) there are entire blogs  specifically about this ideal beach living ( Like here, here, and here to list a few) and although this isn’t a reality of mine right now, I think it’s still super fun to think about it, don’t you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

