Skip to content

Around The House…

July 27, 2010

Monday afternoons are my time to pick up things that I may not have gotten to over the weekend,  and it’s normally done in about 5-10 minutes: take out the trash, water the plants, run the dishwasher etc…

So yesterday I decided to carry my camera around too so you could get an exciting glimpse into my boring Monday evenings…

  • First I snacked on my homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies. This is huge because I tried a new recipe. The last 3 batches have all been really weird and super buttery, so I search and came across this recipe. I know it seems basic but this was hugely exciting to me and they turned out super yummy:

  • I have been keeping the wine corks from finished bottles since we bought the house and I moved them from a bowl on the counter to a glass vase and I really like them in it because they look so cool. Only problem is that it shows my terrible taste for cheep wine; Barefoot or Yellow Tail anyone? (Don’t judge how many corks there!):

  • I always take the trash can and recycle bin around on Monday when I get home from work. Trash day is Tuesday (this is reason you come to my blog isn’t it? My thrilling and mind blowing information.) and I just always forget on my way out the door in the morning or if I wait until after dinner I get lazy. This is fine but I always laugh because my trash can is the first out every week! I wonder if people only remember it’s trash day because I put mine out:

  • I have apparently been slowly killing my plants. It’s tragic really but the only thing worse then the actual decaying of life on my back patio is the fact that they are still sitting there and I occasionally still water them. You read that right, I STILL WATER THEM:

  • Speaking of plants, I planted some cute seeds in some little pots recently, and the pots tipped over during a rain storm, I didn’t think anything of it and just arranged them back to where I had them. Of course no plants have grown out of the pots, instead they are growing NEXT to the pots:

  • Also, this candle melted weird. I kinda like it:

  • In other news, I had a toenail fall off. I am sparing you the picture, you’re welcome. It’s really fine and I first injured it on the trip to the keys so I have been nursing it for over 2 months – I guess it was time.. I just feel traumatized over it.

Summer is coming to an end, I have attended my last wedding of the summer and work is picking back up now that July is over, so I guess more things around the house will start to look like those plants or that candle. Or maybe it means I’ll need to buy another vase to continue my collection, time will only tell… The Season is only 38 days away…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 4:59 pm

    I found your blog from a comment you left on Slynro’s blog. I just wanted to say “Hi” from a fellow North Carolinian! My husband and I are Tar Heel fans; although, I just finished grad school at State. HAHA!

    • Katie permalink*
      July 28, 2010 8:41 am

      Hi! Glad you found me, although I am sorry to hear about your allegiance to such a unworthy team ;) You’ll find me to be a huge State fan!

  2. July 31, 2010 10:29 pm

    I save corks too and one of my favorite things to do is to write the occasion if there is one (i.e. first anniversary, 28th birthday, etc.) with the date and the people that were there. It makes the corks way more fun to look through later. :)

    Cute blog!

Leave a Reply

