Skip to content

Winos Unite…

July 29, 2010
tags:

My last post I showed off my corks, er well let me correct my self. I showed off my collection of cheap white wine corks. And although none of you have asked me about what I like I noticed a lot of people are trying to see the picture bigger so you are all seeing my terrible taste in $10 bottles of 1.5 liter wine (Remember: this is a no judgment zone).

The worst part is that I am a bit of a lush; I enjoy my wine, detest beer, and can’t hold my liquor. But I am also frugal with things that I consume (not with lasting things or things that matter but if I am using it up I don’t really care.) So this puts me in the spot I am currently in…

My normal wine purchases look something like this:

9 times out of 10 this is what I am carrying around in my sippy cup

Other frequent purchase

This is my "I'm in the mood for a sweeter wine" wine. This also comes in adorable little boxes that resemble Juice boxes - perfect for the pool!

I will admit to drinking my blanco vino  with just about every food group: fish, chicken, pasta,  steaks, burgers, cake, breakfast for dinner etc… So here’s my problem: I feel like I can’t REALLY be a true “wino” without branching out and enjoying other wines. Reds? Chardonnays?

I’ve tried some other wines, clearly I had the “blush” wine phase but made it out alive, I feel like Chardonnay hits me weird and am not a fan of the “oak” taste. I have been known to add ice cubes to my wine too so there’s the “reds are supposed to be at room temperate” bit that I can’t grasp. I own really cute books about how to find wines I like and have read articles but I think I just need to man-up and try some new ones, based on your recommendations of course…

Have any favorites for a girl who just can’t part with her money or grow up past her sweet white wines?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 5:16 pm

    Um…I just want to scream AMEN after reading this post. I am a total wine girl too!!! And I am not judging you for the corks- I have 5 (!!!) vases full of corks that I display on my bar AND a giant corkboard I made with the previous collection. My husband is a big wine drinker too, so that helps, but we look like total alcoholics.

    I like to think I have good taste in wine…because I drink it enough…but I really can’t get over Beringer White Zinfandel. I know its a blush, I know “friends don’t let friends drink white zin.” but its the BEST white zin and its fairly cheap (I refuse to go cheaper then Beringer, then it tastes like garbage). Nothing beats a chilled glass of it on a hot summer day.

    I am not a white wine drinker so unfortunately I can’t help you out much there. :(

    I do, however, love my reds. Here are some of my suggestions for economical reds you should try: My husband loves pino noir and we buy the Woodbridge 1.5 liter because we seriously go through it like its water. If I go red, I like Syrah/Shiraz. I went to a wine tasting class once and they said never to buy a bottle of wine with an animal on the front- I don’t know why- but its a rule I live by. I enjoy Firefly Ridge Syrah but I have never met one I didn’t like. Cabs aren’t my favorite.

    But my favorite. favorite. favorite red (economical….those $80 bottles cannot be beat!) is a spanish wine called Tapena, or “fork wine” as I lovingly call it, because it has a fork on the label. Its hard to find, but most places that have a good wine selection carry it. The Garnacha and the Tempranillo are my favorite. You should try it and tell me what you think!

  2. July 30, 2010 8:32 am

    $10 for wine?! That’s expensive!

    Tarris Heeter has some really good wine for ~$5. Right now there is a sale on Black Swan wine – their Shiraz-Merlot blend is really, really good!

    I agree, Beringer White Zin is one of the best!

    Have you done the free wine tasting at Duplin Winery? It’s wonderful!

  3. July 30, 2010 9:10 am

    the older i get, the more i enjoy a glass of wine after work. i too am a white wine girl. we really enjoy moscato de asti – only found at total wine (we discovered it at olive garden…). it’s a sparkeling, very sweet white. i also love a savignon blanc (or however you spell it). not sure that i’ve met a red wine i particularly love, but i can never resist a pomegrante wine. next time we hang, let’s try a new one!

    • Anna permalink
      July 30, 2010 10:17 am

      I wont even begin to judge you, as you know me to well and that would just be hypocritical… I agree with Melissa on the Shiraz. I tend to go with whites almost exclusively as well however when presented with the occasion that I must drink red, Shiraz is my choice. You can definitely find sweeter ones which is a good way to ease yourself into reds AND despite what wine society tells us, you can chill some reds, particularly the sweet ones.

  4. July 30, 2010 11:15 am

    So I’m a little behind in my reading, but it’s so funny that you posted this, because I just posted a similar thing. I love my sweet wines, especially Rieslings. Being from NY I love NY wines, but unfortunately they aren’t available so I have a few go to’s when I’m elsewhere. Dr. L Riesling is good (the $12.99 version) and so is Chateau St. Michelle Riesling ($7.99).

    If you want to try other whites, the Eco Domain Pinot Grigio is pretty good. So is the Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc. Not all Chardonnays are oaky, but most of them are. I’ve found a few that aren’t but can’t remember them.

    I struggle with Reds myself. I actually like a Shiraz and sometimes a Merlot (weird) but I don’t have any specific recommendations.

    Have you tried any of the Biltmore Estates wines? There’s a red there I like, I’ll have to go see if I have it at home and let you know. (Sorry long comment :-) )

  5. July 31, 2010 6:43 pm

    This is great! No judgment, for sure :) Do you have a Trader Joe’s near you? They carry so many cheap rieslings (my fave is called “RELAX” – love the name,. It is my “splurge” at $7 lol). There is also a fizzy white wine from Portugal called Vinho Verde and the brand Casal Garcia is usually 4 bucks (found at TJs and elsewhere). It is so refreshing!

Leave a Reply

