Skip to content

Real Life Jersey Shore…

August 4, 2010

Yesterday our intern, a guy maybe 2 years younger than me, was talking about how he was from New Jersey. “Ooooohhhh like the Jersey Shore???” I stupidly asked?

Um. NO.

In the need for full disclosure I would like to say now that I have been to the “shore” many times and have family there and yet I have never watched “Jersey Shore”.

My personal memories of the Jersey shore are long weeks in North Wildwood, NJ meeting up with cousins to ride kid rides on the boardwalk after a long day on the beach. Needing a sweatshirt at night on the Ferris wheel because the air was cold on your sunburned skin.  I have had “water ice” and “fudgy wudgy bars” on the beach and I have had the ballsiest seagulls take my hot dog right out my hands mid bite. So Yes, I grew up living at the beach yet every summer made the long haul UP to the Jersey Shore.

To my family, the Jersey Shore is a nice, fairly clean vacation spot. We used to ride our bikes in the morning and we were allowed to walk around the block by our selves and I would get so much Babysitter Club reading done it was ridiculous.

So it did make me feel bad for assuming our new intern was from MTV’s version of the Jersey Shore when I know better!

I consider my self  “Southern” having been raised on the North Carolina coast since 7 years old. But I was born in Boston, and overall have lived in (Mom & Dad, don’t correct my order) Massachusetts, Illinois, Texas, Tennessee, Maryland and North Carolina. The majority of my extended family is in Pennsylvania and New Jersey, with some up into Massachusetts.

So yes, I know better than to classify anyone from New Jersey as being from the “Jersey Shore” and I’m sorry.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samma permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:31 am

    Hi Katie- thanks for stopping by S&S- the link to the shot glass invitation is- http://www.announcingit.com/main/font.asp?pid=31447&catid=63

  2. August 4, 2010 4:44 pm

    Missy, you forgot a state that you lived in, CT, so I won’t correct the order, but you can’t insult a state that way, you spent your first year there. Give credit where credit is due! Waterford CT. Love you

Leave a Reply

