Skip to content

Tell me about your: Books….

August 5, 2010

I was over on Habitually Chic, a blog I LOVE, yesterday and Heather’s post was about Books.

If you know me at all in real life or via the blog, I am a total book nerd these days.  I have my book in my purse at all times, sometimes I am in the middle of more than one book at a time and I am always making notes of what other people are reading to get ideas for the future. I used to be a reader and then college happened and I decided that if I had to be required to read there was no way I was going to read for fun.

I still read for fun every now and then, Like the Harry Potter series that got re-read about 4 times throughout college… but I didn’t pick up anything new until this past fall. Yes, it took me almost 3 years out of school to remember “oh wait using my brain and imagination was fun.”

It started with… (pause for me to cover my face with my hands and shake my head) … Twilight. My friend let me borrow it and 24 hours later I had devoured the little love story and was begging for more. I know this isn’t going to be “great literature” but really nothing I read is.  I just liked it ok?

From the Twilight Saga I moved onto reading every one of Nicholas Sparks’ books, discovered Jen Lancaster and Jennifer Weiner and of course got into the Southern Vampire Series. I have been sprinkling in other authors as I learn about them and list them not only on Our Library page but I also have a GoodReads account (you should be my friend! I love friends!).  I am also part of blogging book club that is just getting started up and I am super excited about it too!

Basically? Total book nerd right here. So I was excited to see on Habitually Chic her open ended questions about books! So I answered:

  • Book I’m reading now: One Fifth Aveune by Candace Bushnell. So far it’s cute and easy to read in the car and at lunch.
  • Book(s) that changed my life: The Harry Potter series. They reminded me reading was fun and all the cool places you could go in them.
  • Book I give as a gift: I think any of the Post Secret books by Frank Warren are awesome gifts. They start conversations, thoughts and encourage secret telling!

So it’s your turn friends. Tell me about your books: what are you reading? What book changed you? and What book is a good gift?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 11:25 am

    I love the we posted on the same topic on the same day! I have seen that Post Secrets book and it is so neat.

  2. August 6, 2010 12:38 pm

    I love a good book, which is one of the reasons I wanted to start the blog book club! I love the HP series, and I agree. It definitely has changed my life.

    I just finished The Help the other day. FABULOUS book if you haven’t read it! Two of my favorite books that I’ve read in the last year were The Middle Place and American Wife. I highly recommend both these!

  3. August 6, 2010 12:38 pm

    I also added you on goodreads :)

  4. August 9, 2010 9:00 pm

    amen to the Harry Potter series, its amazing. Have you read The Hunger Games? They are just as good. The concept is a little weird before you start reading, but I think if you like Harry Potter you’ll love Hunger Games.

Leave a Reply

