Skip to content

Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 1-10…

August 16, 2010

I have been a speed reading fool lately. Not because I don’t have other things to do, but because now that I am enjoying reading again I just want to finish a book the minute I start it.

That’s what happened with The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlin.  This is the first book in the Book Beginnings and Bookends bloggers Book Club. This past week we were set up with a reading schedule to read approximately 100 pages a week and then we can discuss on the following Monday. As of Saturday morning I had not opened my book yet.  It was as if Finley knew this small fact and decided to wake me up on a Saturday – at 7:30 am. I could have gotten mad, but he was too cute and I really did have some reading to start.

Fast forward to about 5:45 that night and I was done.  I had started and finished the entire book in addition to helping my brother move into his new apartment and went out to lunch – it was a FULL Saturday. But to summarize? The book was GREAT.  This was a first for me to read a book that I knew nothing about, but it was quick, detailed, and since the book is based here in the Raleigh area, I was already interested.

Here are my thoughts on Chapters 1-10:

1. What was your first impression of Tim?

Tim confused me. At first I thought it was just a crush and that she would get over it. Maybe she was reading him wrong? But then he started being so forward. What old college guy hits on a 16 year old waitress?

Overall he seemed totally charming and intelligent. I was definitely interested in what his role was and where the story was going after meeting Tim.

2. If you were in CeeCee’s position, would you be willing to help your boyfriend in the way that she is willing to help Tim?

I can see how at 16, she was willing to help this older man. He was smart, had money, had a life that she was interested in. He provided her with experiences and made her feel special.  Not that I would have gotten in a situation similar to hers, I can totally see how she did.

3. Why do you think CeeCee is so eager to please Tim?

I think CeeCee is eager to please him for the same reasons that I listen above.  Her lack of family and unstable background led her to need him. Not need him in a Bella/ Edward way (Ha! Twilight Reference!) but in a way that you want them to continue to like you, want them to think you are special. Being in the foster care system couldn’t have been easy on a young girls self-esteem and I think Tim’s attention, money, and family history lured her in and made her want to please him.

4. Who do you think has it harder? Tim or CeeCee?

Since I know how the book ends, this question is tough to answer. But I have a hard time thinking anyone that comes from a “privileged” background, as it’s eluded to, has it “hard.” Tim seemed from the beginning to be a typical College guy (Confession: I also HATED Tim as soon as I found out he went to Carolina, as I am alumni of their rivals. So I may or not may not be biased.) so I wouldn’t vote that he had it “Harder” at this point in the story.

CeCe’s life intrigued me. Between the letters from her mom, her foster care background and he drive to succeed I felt like she had a “hard” life but didn’t let it weigh her down.

5. What character trait(s) about CeeCee stuck out the most to you in these first ten chapters?

I think hard working people always stand out to me. Whether that’s in her desire to become college educated or just in her motivation to get up and work at a diner everyday. She seemed trusting and honest as well as her courage. She was so brave with her life and in events going forward, so her courage stood out as well.

6. Do you think CeeCee is as mature as she seems?

I think she is mature in the sense that she can take care of herself and handle adult situations. I think she was immature at the way she lost her self into Tim.  I do think she had to “grow-up” too early in life, so int hat respect I think a word I would use is “responsible” more so than mature.

Like I said though, I flew this book and really enjoyed it.  The only thing I hated? The TERRIBLE, ugly cover that came on it from the library, not the one pictured above. I seriously almost went out and bought the book because the cover was so dumb looking. Luckily I didn’t need to carry it in public too much… Yeah I’m like that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 4:44 pm

    It’s so great to read everyone’s take on the book. I see your point in all your answers!

  2. August 16, 2010 5:49 pm

    I know what you mean about having more interest in a book that’s based in an area that your familiar with. I definitely felt the same way about it! I live in VA and have been to NC many times, so I liked knowing the places she wrote about!

    Glad you’re joining in the discussion!

  3. August 16, 2010 9:47 pm

    I powered through this book too! I finished it in like 2 days- such a good choice for a first read!

  4. August 17, 2010 10:12 am

    HAHA!! I think I had the same cover as you because mine wasn’t like the picture you posted either, LOL!
    I flew thru the book too and could not put it down. Loved your answers and take on the first 10 chapters!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 11-20… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  2. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 21-35… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  3. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 36-50… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  4. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 50-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

