Skip to content

This TV Update Brought to You By…

August 17, 2010

I have been catching up on my TV shows lately and because I know you care, Here’s what my thoughts are:

I’ll be honest, I watched the first episode of the season and was not impressed. I think to me, they jumped into 1965 too fast; I missed 1961 and I missed the family life aspect.  Season opener had so much that had changed: offices, relationships, colors, costumes etc.

The episodes have picked back up for me and now I am back to really loving it again. I’ve adjusted to Peggy being so independent and to Don living his single life. And I’ll admit I was super excited for Pete to find out he will be a Daddy this year!

True Blood is pushing me over the top. Albie officially stopped watching after the season opener, he couldn’t take the bad script writing but I’ll admit to still fully being hooked.

The show has taken MAJOR departures from the books, which is good since  now I am not just waiting for things to happen. I am enjoying being surprised. What I am not enjoying? The completely gratuitous amounts of sex. Like graphic sex. I am embarrassed to talk about this show at work now! Overall the show is entertaining and I am excited to see where they take things, lets just hope they take a break from the bedroom scenes.

This year Project Runway expanded their show by 30 minutes, so now it’s an hour and half.  I am going to say right now, both Albie and I were skeptical of the extension. This is the only “Reality Show” we watch, and the only reason we do watch is because the people on the show have TALENT. Not faked or manufactured talent, but legit t-a-l-e-n-t. They can sew, design, and style. The extension made me nervous that now we would get the “feelings” side of things. gag. I don’t care about their feelings about a fabric. I want to see what they can make out of the supplies from a Party Store or how stylish they can make a burlap bag.

I have designers I like and ones that I don’t (coughGretchencough) so the show is keeping up with me so far. Not too much faux-drama and if there is then I Fast Forward and get to the good stuff, Like Tin Gunn and Heidi Klum.

This show is new to our line-up. The story behind Hard Knocks is that HBO goes into the training camp of one NFL team each season.  They show the cuts, the coaches meetings, the negotiations and practice.  Being that this is about the NFL I was skeptical. I love football, it pays my bills and I enjoy it from the fan perspective. But I am not a “Pro” lover.  I think when you add money into the situation you make someone’s motivation change – they don’t seem to play for the “love of the game” anymore.  It’s not a game, it’s a business.

With that being said I am loving this show! It adds so much of the emotion and the hard work that I like about college football. You see the coaches personalities, the players families and how the teams are managed.  This show has seriously made me cry when players get cut, laugh at a coach sneaking snacks and suddenly you find your self interested in how the team does on the field. Do you think I watched the start to the Pre-season game Jets vs Giants last night? You betcha! HBO and NFL have a good one here, it’s just enough Football for the sport lovers and just enough story to keep non-sport lovers interested.

What are y’all watching this year? Am I missing some good shows?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 1:33 pm

    yes, you are missing a great show. it’s called bachelor pad. it’s reality show drama and we love it. abc, mondays, 8pm

  2. August 23, 2010 10:55 pm

    I totally miss the family life aspect of Mad Men, too! It makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

