Skip to content

Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 11-20…

August 23, 2010

Edit: Please do not think I am one of those people who can’t space paragraphs out properly. WordPress is ignoring me this morning.

I am still playing along with the Book Beginnings and Bookends book club so here are my latest answers and thoughts on how the book progressed.


{ If you missed my Chapter 1-10 Review you can see it here. }

1. Where do you think Tim and Marty are at this point in the story?

I honestly remember not being worried about where they were at all. For some reason I felt like maybe it was the last time we would ever hear of them and that’s why the book was called “The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes” it wasn’t about secret lives, plural, and it wasn’t about “CeeCee and Tim.”

2. What were your thoughts as CeeCee was helping Genevieve deliver her baby?

 

I just kept thinking that I hoped the baby lived. I knew from that opening chapter that Genevieve would die and I just felt like it was coming as she was talking about hemorrhaging. I also just felt so bad for everyone involved, I am sure no mother wants to deliver a baby in that setting and I am almost positive that CeeCee didn’t want to be on the receiving end either.

 

3. After Genevieve died, what would you have done with her baby if you had been in CeeCee’s shoes?
I would have taken the baby to the hospital and dropped it off at the Emergency Room. I have watched enough Law & Order to know that they will take in the baby and care for it well.

 

I know she didn’t know where a hospital was, but I would have gotten my butt in a car and driven around town until  I found some kind of help. Keeping the child would not have been my first course of action.

 

4. Why do you think CeeCee/Eve is still holding onto hope that Tim will come for her?

 

I think I would have held on that hope too. He made promises to her and because she was so naive she believed in not only promises but in him as well. I think CeeCee believed in Tim’s plan and his words enough to think she would always be taken care of.

 

5. How do you think Eve will establish her new identity in Virginia?

 

I think she will adapt because that’s what is good at. When her mom died and CeeCee was bouncing around foster homes, she adapted and thrived. She became her own person on her own then and I think she will in Virgina as Eve too.

 

6. What do you think of CeeCee/Eve now after she has gone through with the kidnapping, the delivery of the baby, the escape, and the relocation?

 

I think CeeCee/ Eve is a very strong person. While I do think her maturity may show us that she was not ready to be a Mother or a Kidnapper, her strength is what will move her past this stage to become a better Eve.

 

Also… Funny story about me because I feel like you may need me to make fun of myself a bit: I tend to  drop into conversations that I took AP English in High School. Like “oh… well in high school I took AP English… la ti da.” Right, not so cool, why I do it is beyond me. I think I may brag about this teeny tiny fact because I think people excuse my terrible SAT scores when they hear I at least did well in school. Well yesterday when I was cleaning out some papers in our “home office”  I found my AP test scores. I got a 1. Like a 1 out of 5. As in, “thanks for putting your name on your test but you clearly didn’t know what the hell was going on.”

 

So I guess just because I enjoy reading doesn’t mean I always understand what’s going on and I love that this book club gives me guided questions because otherwise I’d probably get a 1 out of 5 on reviewing this book to you.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:59 am

    I said the same thing! I would have gotten in the car and found a hospital or some place to leave the baby! Great answers!

  2. August 23, 2010 8:44 pm

    Bahaha! That AP English story is hilarious. I took it too, but I didn’t even take the test. I knew I’d do terrible and didn’t feel like prepping for it :)

  3. August 23, 2010 8:52 pm

    Your answer for #5 is spot on. I wish I had thought of that!!

Trackbacks

  1. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 21-35… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  2. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 36-50… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  3. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 50-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  4. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 51-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

