Skip to content

Organization Is Key…

August 24, 2010

I am oddly OCD about my labels. That could extend to the labels on my file folders at work, on the outside of boxes in the attic or even on my computer files.

I feel like everything has a home and not only should everything be in it’s home, but that home should be labeled.

People tend to laugh at me when things are overly labeled here at work, for instance we went to a bowl game a few years ago and we had to take our own office supplies so I labeled my stapler and tape with my Office and Name. So as not to get lost in the back and forth of traveling:

People think that this takes my crazy organizing and labeling  from “Katie’s organization system is so super helpful!” to “Why is that girl so attached to her stapler?”

Even at home, Albie thinks I am nuts when I want to label obvious things, but I don’t hear any complaining when I label the tax returns “2008 Tax Returns” , “2009 Tax Returns” etc…

But the place I go craziest with my labeling and my OCD really comes out is in my email.

Gmail and I were meant to find each other because we are a match made in heaven. I not only don’t need to throw anything away thanks to the helpful “Archive” feature but I can arrange things into “Folders” and while things are still in my inbox I can “Label” them! And color code them!

My inbox always seems more manageable is I can keep things to a simple page (no scrolling please) and I think it’s easier to see what’s in my inbox and what needs attention.

I rely too much on my email, I use it contact people instead of the phone/ texting and I sometimes store pictures and documents on it too. I get my bills sent to my email and file past conversations away in the archive. My email is like my life but labeled, color coded and has a search bar at the top!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 3:50 pm

    I love the archive feature on gmail! I use it all of the time!

  2. August 24, 2010 4:45 pm

    The General and I have the same job, so whenever we open something at work, like chemicals, we have to label it with a date and its expiration. It has bled over into our fridge and pantry. It’s amusing, but only cuz we’re science geeks. And at least I know how long I’ve had the flour open.

  3. August 24, 2010 5:13 pm

    I love the labels in gmail! Mine are neatly archived too!

  4. Mrs. Business permalink
    August 24, 2010 5:19 pm

    I am so excited to find your blog. I saw a comment you posted on Blue-Eyed Bride’s blog post today where you mentioned being from the Carolinas, and I decided to check it out. From your wedding info, I’m guess you’re from Wilm? I am too, and I live in Raleigh now.

    I’ve been working on setting a blog up, but it’s not really there yet. If you don’t mind, I’d love to follow you on Twitter. Anyhow, it’s nice to “meet” you, and I love your blog!

  5. August 25, 2010 9:25 am

    i do this too. in fact, i asked for a label maker one year for christmas. ever since then, things have been a little out of hand. i’m looking forward to the day we finish the office so i can label the heck out of everything in it!!

Leave a Reply

