Skip to content

My Roaring Twenties…

August 25, 2010
tags: ,

The other day was my “half birthday”.

As in I was 25.5… half way between 25 and 26. No longer half way between 20 and 30. I was more on the side of 30 now.

Every year I have the  same birthday woes: I love them and hate them in the same breath. I love the celebration of life and of the passing of time. I love a day dedicated to just y.o.u.  I love the presents and the happy aspect of the day. I also hate the mark of the passage of time, the jokes about getting older, and the feeling as though I am moving away from fun and toward seriousness.

For years I have been the biggest baby about getting “older”. My 20th and 22nd were the worst that I can remember. Twenty made me no longer a teenager, and twenty-two made me no longer “21” – the fun age. On my 22nd I felt like I wouldn’t be counting down to a good exciting birthday anymore, now I would countdown to dreaded birthdays.

The ironic thing is that I get carded everywhere and don’t look 25. Until today.

Today, a guy in my office asked how old I was. I said 25. and the look of shock on his face could not be erased in time  for me not to notice. I noticed and made a big show of acting like I thought it was hilarious. He recovered by saying “oh no, I totally thought you were like 23!”

Until later.

Then he fessed up to thinking I was to… sigh… 27 or 28.

It was my turn to be shocked. No one has EVER thought I was older than I am. So of course I wanted to know why?????

“You just seem more mature” …. “You just seem so ‘together'” blah blah blah. I didn’t really care at that point. I immediately was questioning whether I wear too many cardigans, whether my hair styling made me look older, do my conversations about HOAs, interest rates and recipes add years to my age?

So that got me thinking about how close I AM to 30 and above. How I have some big life  “to-do”s checked off my life list but what is left?  Have I set enough goals for my self? What’s my next big thing? What do I want to be when I grow up? Oh wait.. I am grown up?

So I spent my afternoon making diggs about my age and his comment in a joking manner. I can be a smart-ass so it’s accepted. But I can’t fail mentioning that I will be setting some new goals for my self, a “30 things to do before I am 30” if you will.

Help me avoid having my twenties roar by me and make them my roaring twenties…If you made a list what would be on it? Goals you know you can each or lofty ones that would be cool “if”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 1:01 pm

    25 was a big hit for me. so was 26. 27 came and went and no one really noticed. i’m hoping the same thing happens for 30.

  2. August 27, 2010 10:33 am

    The week I turned 25 (3 wks ago) I went out to a bar in our neighborhood and the door guy checked everyone’s ID in my group. Then he got to me and goes “Ah- you’re good. Go ahead.” I then proceeded to FREAK OUT and follow him around for the rest of the night asking him repeatedly why he hadn’t carded me and asking his honest opinion about how old I look. Yes, I know I’m a total psycho…it just struck a nerve. Point being…25 just felt so final to me. Kind of like I’m on a runaway train and there’s no turning back – which is a little scary. I feel you on this one. :)

Leave a Reply

