Skip to content

Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 21-35…

August 30, 2010

Today I am running behind in keeping up with my Book Club answers but I thought this week asked some really good questions so I wanted to set some time aside today to answer them!

{ Please look back at  my thoughts on Chapters 1-10 and then 11-20. }

1. Do you think Tim is the one sending the money?

I do. No one else would know about the situation and have access to the cash. I agree with Erin who said it seemed out of character for Tim to be so generous but I think maybe his conscious got to him.

2. So far, there’s been a lot of discussion on CeeCee/Eve and her choices. What choice(s) would you make differently from her?

I can’t say that I wouldn’t have gotten mixed up with Tim in the first place. I probably would have had some red flags go up about the kidnapping and wouldn’t have gotten involved then but if things had progressed like they did for CeeCee that I have said before that I would have dropped that baby off at the hospital from the start.

There is no way I would have been raising someone else’s baby at 16 like that.

3. What do you like about Jack? Are there things about him that you don’t like?

I thought Jack was so sweet.  I loved that Jack was so open to Cory and was so playful with her. I like how much he loves both Eve and Cory, I think it’s great to show that a young single Mom can still find someone to love her and her kids.

4. What are the differences between CeeCee/Eve’s relationship with Tim and Eve’s relationship with Jack?

CeeCee let her self get lost into Tim and she let herself be defined by him. Eve and Tim have a more even relationship based on more than being used. The basis of the relationships come from entirely different places though so it’s only fair that we see them differently.

When CeeCee met Tim she was vulnerable and naive. By the time Eve met Jack she much more mature and responsible for another person.

5. Do you think Eve is to blame for Cory’s fears? What could she do, specifically, to help Cory feel like less of an outsider?

I think it’s tough to blame all of Cory’s fears on Eve but I do think that she had a huge role in that. I think that it’s understandable to not want “your” baby to get hurt or cry at all, I know when Finley gets sick it breaks my heart. But, I also think Eve was too young and was thrown into this situation so she didn’t know how to make boundaries with Cory. How is a child supposed to raise another child?

I agreed with Rachel in saying that sending Cory to private school was probably really good for her. Some people thrive in those smaller environments.

6. Do you think Eve appropriately answered Cory’s questions about her father? Do you think Cory will question her father more as she grows older?

I totally think Eve shouldn’t have made up further lies although I can’t think of anything else she would have said. Cory will naturally question her father as she grows older. I just feel like lies are so hard to keep track of so it’s always easier to tell the truth.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 11:38 pm

    I am also hoping the private school helps Cory. I think her issues are a combination of Eve being so young, and then obviously Eve worrying about getting caught. She was going to try and do everything she could to keep Cory from getting hurt because then Eve could somehow get caught.

    • August 30, 2010 11:39 pm

      By the way, I just checked out your GoodReads profile, and I saw you were also reading Last Night at Chateau Marmont. I totally want to read that book next. I’ll send you a friend request.

Trackbacks

  1. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 36-50… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  2. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 50-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  3. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 51-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

