Skip to content

The Art of Apologizing…

September 5, 2010
tags:

This is something I am terrible at doing. Something I am not bad at doing? Opening my damn mouth.

Saturday alone, within the time span of 1 hour with only a Dr. Pepper fueling me… I opened my mouth and said 2 dumb things. One of which resulted in making someone cry. Awesome – score one for me. The other was just an off comment  that I made without knowing all of the information.

The first “katieism” of yesterday I could not ignore. I found the person’s who feeling I hurt and apologized. I said “I am sorry and I was wrong, please forgive me. ” She did and we went on to be fine.

The second “katieism” I have not apologized for and am not sure how to go about it or if I should at all. This person did not act like their feelings were hurt and actually laughed at my lame joke.  It was after the conversation that someone told me what I had said was bad.  Then I felt awful.

In addition to not being good at apologies I also apparently over think everything.

I would be lying if this didn’t happen entirely too often.  I say something, or nothing which can be almost as bad,  and then the situation passes… do you go back and apologize? Do I assume everyone over thinks conversations like I do?

What do y’all do? Any other over-thinkers want to travel back in time and fix conversations like I do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 10:54 pm

    I definitely ‘over-think’ things and then think oh gosh, what did I say. You’re not the only one. Mine is usually more of, did I say something to someone that they weren’t supposed to know or something along those lines. Sometimes I worry myself to the point of not being able to sleep, which is stupid, but that’s me I guess. If I think that someone is/was offended, I usually do my best to gauge their reaction the next time I see them and go from there to see if i need to apologize or clarify. Wish I had a better answer, you’re not the only one!

  2. September 7, 2010 4:18 pm

    i was not a good apologizer until john and i got back together last year. i found that 80% of our arguments were just me being a bitch and it wasn’t until i apologized that we moved on. he taught me that a sincere apology doesn’t have a BUT in it. that was hard. the other thing that taught me how to apologize was when i rear-ended his dad’s denali on a weekend trip to rocky mount. opps. my bad. i’m sorry. it’s not easy, but once you get some practice, it’s not so bad. good luck!

Leave a Reply

