Skip to content

Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 36-50…

September 6, 2010

Can I admit that I am glad that the questions about CeeCee Wilkes are almost over? I loved the book so much that I read it in one day, so spreading out the questions week by week is making it hard for me to remember how everything happened! Next book I am going to have to control my self a bit better so my answers are more detailed!

Did anyone else have problems pacing them selves with the reading?

{ For past questions you can look back at Chapters 1-10, 11-20, and 21-35 }

1. Have your feelings about Tim changed through out this last section of chapters?

I think the fact that Tim is keeping Eve’s secret says a lot about how he may have grown or changed. I still don’t like him but

2. Do you agree with Cory and her behavior as an adult and her life with Ken? Is she justified in cutting her mother and father out of her life?

I feel like Cory is finally getting to live on her own and while she should be excited about that and embracing that, maybe trying new things – she just got sucked back into the same pattern with Ken.

I can’t help but think that Cory is living a similar life to CeeCee; They both needed someone to  love them and need (although in very different ways) and they both fell into someone who could use them or not let them be themselves to the fullest extent.  I think it’s interesting how CeeCee’s relationship with Tim may have even influenced Cory’s relation with Ken.

But to answer this question, No Cory is not justified in cutting her parents out. I do agree boundaries needed to be set so that she could experience some more freedom and learn to be on her own, face some of her fears… but no. Not totally cut off.

3. At what point do you think Cory decided to spend less time with her mother?

I think Cory leaving for school was a big factor. Going away for college is a big step for both the kids and the parents – it’s a great opportunity to practice better boundaries and experience a more separate life.

4. What do you think is Eve’s biggest fear?
I think Eve’s biggest fear would be loosing the life that she built… maybe life isn’t the best word, but loosing her family. Loosing the stability and the love that she has built around her would be terrible for her.

5. When the story about Genevieve’s body came out, what would you have done if you were Eve? Just sat back and watched things unfold? Come forward? Would you tell Jack?

Assuming I kept in her path the whole time including keeping the baby, I would have to tell the truth! I still am amazed that she can keep this secret to her self!

6. Do you think Eve should tell Jack and confess? Why?

Eve needed to tell Jack before they got married but since that’s a moot point I would say YES, YES, a thousand times YES! She needs to confess and get it out in the open. No one needs to wonder any more!

I think her family will rally around her, maybe not at once and not all for the same reasons, but she needs to be honest with them.  I can’t really think of a better reason “why” but I do think YES, it’s time to confess girl!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 1:19 pm

    I am ready for book #2 too! I paced myself, somewhat in reading this book. I would only read the chunk of chapters for the week, but I’d read them all on Sunday or Monday night and then have to wait a week to answer the questions.. in the meantime, I’d be reading something else, so my mind would be engrossed in that book! Ah. Next time, maybe I’ll be better!!! Doubtful, though! I totally agree with you on #2 – I thought that Cory was living a life very similar to CeeCee.. I’ve finished the book since writing my responses, and it’s so interesting to see how everything unfolds.. so good!

  2. September 6, 2010 5:07 pm

    I wrote down the chapters for each week ahead and as I read the book, would stop after each group and just jot down my thoughts about those chapters in a scheduled post. Then I continued reading. I just couldn’t stretch out reading this book for that long. I had to see what was going to happen next. Then when the questions for the chapters were posted, I just read them over and if I missed commenting on certain questions I thought were good, I’d edit my post.

    Here’s the link to my post about these chapters: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2010/09/book-club-secret-life-of-ceecee-wilkes.html

  3. September 6, 2010 10:56 pm

    I definitely agree with your #2. I think that in a way Cory and Ken is similar to CeeCee and Tim.

    I’m like you, ready for book #2. I need to learn to pace myself next time.

  4. September 7, 2010 9:38 am

    I did the same thing…I finished the book a long time ago and I’m having problems remembering what happened at what point! And, I gave the book to my mom to read so I don’t even have it to reference anymore! Lol!

  5. Brenda permalink
    September 7, 2010 3:26 pm

    YES! I agree with your initial comments so much. I am ready to be done with this book because I could not put it down. I feel like I read it so long ago.

    I am ready for the next one and will force myself to pace it with the discussions.

Trackbacks

  1. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 50-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  2. Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes 51-71… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

