Skip to content

Happiness…

October 7, 2010

Lately I have been having trouble with being “happy” for other people…

It’s not that I mean to be spiteful or that I am jealous because I really don’t think that’s what my problem is. Sometimes I just struggle with being honestly happy for someone else.

It could be someone’s new house, job promotion, new car, upcoming wedding, pregnancy, ability to dress stylishly etc… while I know I have nothing to be jealous of  I still can’t help and not always be happy for someone else.  (Ok, I’ll admit I AM jealous if you have the stylish gene.)

Let me also be clear that it’s not that I am un-happy, on the contrary, I am very happy. I think things are just busy enough to keep me entertained and to keep things moving. I think Finley is the bees knees and I think Albie is the cat’s pajamas. I have friends to chat with, good shows saved on my DVR and wine chilled in the fridge at all times. I’m good except I feel like I am constantly putting on my fake smile for people.

Does faking my happiness for other people make me a bad person or maybe the fact that I am asking just make me an honest person? Are we supposed to be thrilled for everyone all the time or is this normal?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 10:39 pm

    You aren’t alone. I have that same struggle. I always feel like other people have it so much better than me or are just plain lucky in life. I’m not sure how to get over it…

  2. October 10, 2010 9:19 pm

    Glad you are getting in touch with this, but I don’t think you are alone, I know other people that struggle with this, it could be a twenty-something thing that will go away. It did for me!

Leave a Reply

