Skip to content

Bacon Wrapped Goodness…

October 9, 2010
tags: ,

Albie likes to try one new recipe a week and lately because of the pretty weather they have almost all been grill related.

The challenges related to trying new recipes in our house falls squarely on my shoulders. I am as picky as they come… I don’t like my food to touch, the textures have to be just right and if it’s good for me, please don’t tell me. With that said I also “hate” completely random foods that other normal people would give up their first born for. Like Bacon.

That brings me to the new dinner Albie convinced me to try this week: Bacon-Wrapped Turkey Breast with Herb Stuffing.

I have never been a bacon fan (something about seeing the greasy fat when it’s done). I was also never a fan of stuffing (I think the warm bread did it for me). And I like my turkey sliced thinly with American Cheese on white bread.

Are we sensing why me high fiving Albie over this recipe last night is such a big deal? We are talking about this dinner making an appearance at holiday meals this year – THAT’S how good this was.

Here’s what you need:

  • Turkey breast (just the boob, not the whole bird.) Our tag said it was about 3 lbs but I bet after you take out the “gravy” in the middle and cut off the fat, it’s more like 1.5-2lbs
  • 12-18 slices of bacon (good bacon)
  • Make your own stuffing or buy the box like we did.

Then follow the pictures as if it were  a yellow brick road  leading you to Oz:

Butterfly your turkey breast and lay out your bacon

Spread out your stuffing and roll it up

Gently move it onto your bed of bacon

Wrap the bacon around the turkey like you are braiding it

Tie butchers twine around your meat baby about every inch. Then tie one lengths wise too.

You'll have to ask Albie for how he set up the grill but the key words I heard were "indirect high heat" ...whatever that means.

Check your bird every 15 minutes or so to see if it needs to be rotated. Ours took just under an hour to grill to a good internal temperature.

Let it rest for 10 minutes before cutting in to it and then devour it. Then make a blog post to brag about how yummy your dinner turned out.

The recipe is from Weber’s: Way To Grill cookbook that we love. It has taught us basic charcoal knowledge and has taught this bacon hating girl to wrap her stuffed turkey breast with bacon and like it, so to say we’re big fans is putting it mildly.

( I just re-read my “how-to” and you should probably consult more detailed instructions or send me an email and I can get you exact details.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 8:01 am

    Good! The pictures are awesome. Looks like an artwork!

  2. October 9, 2010 11:40 am

    That looks awesome! (as anything wrapped in bacon would!)

  3. October 9, 2010 3:29 pm

    I agree with the others, anything with bacon has to be good!! I made Pioneer Woman’s chipotle corn chowder with bacon for lunch today! The recipe looks so awesome–can’t wait to try it!

  4. October 10, 2010 9:14 pm

    Wow this looks amazing! Boy am I glad I am part of your holiday plans!! Bravo for you trying new things! So proud of you, and the Albie for branching out!

  5. sunmakesmesmile permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:28 pm

    I’ve learned first hand not to doubt Albie’s skills, but man this looks super yummy! Katie, I’m proud of you for trying it and supporting your husband’s super duper dinner work. Please send me the how-to’s, I’d like to try it myself and pass it on :)

  6. October 18, 2010 3:29 pm

    Just stumbled onto your fun blog and that looks amazing!! Am a new follower :)

  7. Anonymous permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:11 am

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY going to try this for my turkey day tmro.. Let ya know how it turns out..

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Firsts… « Oui, Bien Sur!
  2. Our Tiny Thanksgiving Feast… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

