Skip to content

Study Habits of an Undergrad…

October 13, 2010

Tuesday nights I have my class. It’s my first attempt at Grad school and it’s a completely interesting (to me) topic – so I should look forward to it every week. Except I don’t.

It’s not that I don’t look forward to going, because I could easily drop the class and forget I even tried. It’s that my study habits, mixed with my work habits (and my wine habit) aren’t.. well, they aren’t mixing.

At first I was having this crazy odd adjustment issue to reading and studying for my new class and I couldn’t figure out how to adjust it.

In the past I read a section and highlighted along, then went back and wrote down everything I had highlighted. That method worked super well in undergrad classes and it was a really easy way to divide up my reading for classes (read/highlight one, move on, read highlight another, go back to first reading and write down  to refresh thoughts etc…) Well  this method stuck with me and if I don’t do it all, then I do none of it.

I know grad classes are different. I could tell that on day one. First off, everyone in the room wanted to be there. No one was completing  a requirement, no one was majoring in something they don’t want to, and everyone in my class seemed to have an appreciate for how awesome it feels to use your brain.  It was great!

But in addition to that, I felt like the discussions were not forced, people had questions and opposing view points so they were brought up. No “participation points” hanging over our heads, just simple question and answers among a group of people in class. I am sure that also has a lot to deal with the fact that there are less than 20 people in my class, but everyone spoke freely.

So lately, it’s not that I have been dreading going to class, it’s that I am dreading the “unprepared” feeling that goes with it.  I stopped doing my reading now that we are in thick of football season, and even though I am still interested in the general topic, I am starting to feel “behind”, and I have no one to blame but my self.

So my undergrad study methods are unfortunately still with me. All or nothing, and for now I have picked nothing. Let’s hope the all kicks back in before this research paper is due!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 10:45 am

    I hear ya. It’s hard to do work and school.. I pretty much have decided there will be no fun until December 15 :)

Leave a Reply

