Skip to content

Commencement: Part 2…

October 19, 2010

Even thought I was so behind in starting the latest book club book, I was able to read the whole thing in a few days. I am so glad that I was able to catch up because it was an interesting book. Not something I would recommend to everyone, but interesting. I think it was a great choice  for the book club and can’t wait to see what they pick next! Here are my final thoughts on Commencement.

1. What parts of the book could you most relate to? Least relate?

Like I said in my Part 1 thoughts, I think that I really related to the girl’s experiences their freshman year (um excuse me, First Year)  at Smith. The getting to know the new girls and the discovering of traditions – al of that I could totally relate to.

I also, unfortunately, totally related to them falling apart and not being as close. This has been a big personal struggle of mine lately. Loosing friends for whatever reason is a totally odd thing because they used to be such a big part of your life then they just aren’t. Someone could say something (or nothing at all!) and it gets taken a bad way just like at the end of part 1.

I did NOT relate to April’s character at all. I felt like she was supposed to be a strong, hippie, feminist character and instead she gets sucked into Ronnie’s plan and looses her self. I feel like she was too extreme for me to relate to.

2. If the author were to write another novel that followed one of the girls onto her next step of life, which one would you want it to be about? Whose story would you want to follow more of?

I think I would be intrigued most by Cecila. She looked like she would have the most open ended story going forward.  She was working on her book, she was back with her friends and she had thing to look forward to.

3. What surprised you the most about this book?

I was surprised the title was “Commencement. ” Not that I have a better title for the book, but so much of the book was NOT about graduating.

I get that their commencement was the milestone in the book but I kept thinking it would have been a stronger theme or string throughout the book.

4. Which character did you look forward to reading about the most?

I started to really look forward to Sally’s chapters once she was pregnant. It was fun to listen to her complain about her situation and then suddenly fall in love with it. I also thought her husband seemed so funny and cute.

5. Did this book meet your expectations?

I do think it met my expectations. I think it was a great story about friendship and life after college. It had enough plot twists that I was interested in seeing what happened and following the characters to the end.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 12:33 pm

    I agree about the title (I don’t have a better one either). It seemed as though their college life wasn’t detailed enough. That was what I really enjoyed reading about, too.

  2. October 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    I totally agree about April. She was supposed to be really strong! How on earth did she get sucked into a stupid plan? I agree with you and Missy also about the title. I had never thought of that, but it doesn’t really fit, does it? I can’t wait to see what the next book will be! :)

  3. October 19, 2010 2:42 pm

    I completely agree about April. I did not relate to her story at all and ended up skimming a lot of it because I just simply wasn’t interested in it. Is that horrible? Probably.

    Also, now that you mention the title…I agree with that too. They actually hardly touched on their graduation and it was simply an idea that separates their college experience from their post college experience.

  4. October 19, 2010 4:49 pm

    I didn’t think about it, but you are right…the title doesn’t really go with the book. Hmm…

  5. October 20, 2010 12:06 am

    I loved how you phrased why you liked Sally’s section the best- I couldn’t put my finger on why I liked it, but you hit the nail on the head! Watching her go from being scared to being excited was really fun.

  6. October 20, 2010 2:46 pm

    I relate to what you said about losing touch with friends. People go their separate ways and it is difficult to keep up with everyone, much less to the same degree you do when you are in college together.

  7. October 23, 2010 7:42 pm

    I couldn’t agree more about friends drifting away. I had some VERY close friends from my dorm freshmen year, and by the end of sophomore year it all began to fizzle away. I definitely feel that.

Leave a Reply

