Skip to content

Doggy Dentist…

November 4, 2010
tags:

Ok this is more of a verbal poll for you dog owners out there.

I grew up with cats (another story for another day, one that Albie loves to tell to Finley about how I wanted a kitten and not a puppy.) and I can’t remember their vet appointments outside of how hilarious it was to put them in the car and watch them hiss at the other animals in the waiting room.

With that said, I am obviously a larger part of Finley’s vet check ups, what with being his mom and all. Also, I can take off work sometimes a bit easier than Albie.  This, “Mom is in charge at the vet” scenario  also leads to Finley anxiously making these TERRIBLE crying sounds when the vet tries to cut his nails (vet cutting his nails is $13.95 is worth every freaking penny.)

So this week we had the rare opportunity for both Albie and I to take Finley for his boosters and his check up. While we like to pride ourselves on being amazing fur kid parents, we always are super sensitive to what the vet says.

A few years ago, Finley was in need of a mega doggy diet, complete with monthly weigh-ins. So we took that to heart and got him down to his “ideal weight” (holler!)  so of course this leads us open for something new for the Vet to nag us about.

Finley turns 4 in March and they said he’s “at that age” for his teeth to be professionally cleaned. At $250-ish, I am wondering how normal this is and what have been your past experiences.

So let me ask you about your k-9’s canines. How often do you brush them? Have you ever done the full dental cleaning they are recommending to us?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 12:30 pm

    Tobbie (my Yorkie) is 8 and has never had his teeth cleaned. The vet said it’s something we’re going to keep an eye on, as Tob’s previous owners fed him bad food. :( But, with Rex (the lab) his teeth are sparkling white. Granted, he’s a puppy still! I know pet dentistry is super expensive–AND you have to put them under while they do the dental work. Not something I’d take lightly. Even if you love your vet I’d be tempted to get a second opinion unless you really notice Finley’s teeth looking rough.

  2. November 4, 2010 12:42 pm

    We are really bad about brushing Sadie’s teeth at home. She either licks the toothpaste or bites on the brush, making it totally impossible to actually clean the teeth. At 1 her teeth look fine and chews a lot of bones, so hopefully this will help keep her teeth sparkley but who knows. My parents takes their 11 year old dog for teeth cleanings annually. It’s definitely expensive and a somewhat risky procedure… How is Finlay with the toothbrush?

    • Katie permalink*
      November 4, 2010 12:44 pm

      Finley is like any other dog with the tooth brush (see picture above!) but Albie is good about getting them *kinda* clean. I guess it’s the back ones that have a lot of plaque.

  3. November 5, 2010 10:35 am

    This summer they got on my about Rover and the teeth cleaning situation. I am not good about remembering to brush his teeth and when I do I don’t know how effective I am. (Really how well can chicken flavored toothpaste work) But I do remember when they told me how much the teeth cleaning was going to be I nearly hit the floor.

    But since I go to Banfield (the vet in Petsmart) I could upgrade Rover’s wellness plan and get everything involving the teeth cleaning included. So I went from paying $21/month to $29/month.

    I know a lot of people have issues with Banfield, and I will admit the visits are not personal (the vet changes every time and neither remembers me or Rover), but it is the most economical option out there. Its also a lot easier for me to work $29/month into the budget then surprise $250 visits.

  4. November 5, 2010 7:01 pm

    Wilma hates getting her teeth brushed…aka she won’t let it happen. Our vet recommended getting her teeth cleaned last year because we adopted her and have no record of her health for her 1st 5 years (she was 5 when we got her). He said her teeth were very worn down and had lots of plaque. So, we did it….$300 later. They said they got a lot of stuff off of them while they were doing it. I can’t really tell with the ones in back so I don’t know. We have recently been putting a fresh breath additive (like mouthwash) in her water to help her breath, but I don’t think it’s working. Lol!

Leave a Reply

