Skip to content

Christmas Movies…

November 15, 2010

My good friend Becky and I have discussing Christmas movies today. She and her new Husband are starting a new tradition and she was wondering what Christmas movies I liked.

I immediately said Love Actually… because it’s my go to movie to get me in the spirit. I list some other favorites and she shows me her list of ones they have come up with so far…

Number one on her list is a movie that I cannot (CANNOT!) stand!

That’s right. I hate A Christmas Story. Hate.

To me, the marathon of it running on Christmas Day is like nails on a chalk board. I can’t stand the tongue on the frozen pole scene. I think that lamp the dad wins is ugly and I would rather watch this movie then put it in my front window. (Although I do label boxes with ” FRAGILE: It’s Italian!” and giggle to my self.)

Am I alone on HATING A Christmas Story?

What are your favorite Christmas movies?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 12:59 pm

    I HATE that movie! In fact, when I watched it as a kid, it freaked me out. I thought there was something really wrong with that kid. He was just so stupid. To this day, I cannot watch it. You are not alone!

  2. November 15, 2010 1:29 pm

    I hate that movie, too! I have never gotten the appeal of it. I love Love Actually. One of my must-see’s every year. My all-time favorite Christmas movie is Christmas in Connecticut. It’s an old, black and white movie that is hilarious! I love the old farm house in Connecticut, which is probably one of the main reasons I can watch it over and over again.

  3. Sarah permalink
    November 15, 2010 7:39 pm

    I am not crazy about that movie either… I wouldn’t go so far as to say “hate”, but it’s not one I would watch if I am flipping through and see it on tv. I am a big Love Actually fan as well, and one of my new goto christmas movies is The Holiday, although partly because I broke down and bought it on DVD one year, so I can watch it over and over if I want, although I usually alternate between the two. Eric LOVES National Lampoon’s Christmas vacation, so we watch that one now too. For cartoons, nothing beats the classic How the Grinch stole christmas. I feel I must also confess that I practically wore out the VHS copy of Home Alone growing up. As opposed to the Dirty Dancing VHS I practically wore out, I am no longer crazy about Home Alone but could probably still quote the entire thing.

  4. November 15, 2010 8:50 pm

    I LOVE Love Actually, The Family Stone, Home Alone, and Christmas Vacation. It’s A Wonderful Life is up there on my list, too!

  5. November 15, 2010 10:06 pm

    Ha ha! I haven’t SEEN a Christmas story? Isn’t that worse???

  6. November 26, 2010 1:42 pm

    I hate “A Christmas Story” the whole sticking the tongue to a pole and getting it stuck,, what is that about?? It doesn’t embrace any of the Christmas themes of warm, loving, present-giving that makes me feel as warm as a hot chocolate with Kahlua. My favorites include Miracle on 34th Street and Christmas Vacation with Chevy Chase!! Sweet and fun!

Leave a Reply

