Skip to content

Rivalries…

November 20, 2010

What are your thoughts on College Rivalries? Did you get overly into them? Not care at all? Would you marry someone who supports the rivalry team??

These are clearly important questions as we wined down the football season.

A lot of the schools save their big games for the last of the season, which to those of us who attend them all is painful- your whole season remains undermined until late November??

Today we are playing our rivalry and I am one who cares too much. I pick doctors who didn’t attend that school, I avoid facebook on days when anything happens “over there”, and I roll my eyes if I see someone wearing their logo. I get irritated with cars who have stickers or license plates from that school and I just generally don’t like them!

Yes, I realize I graduated from college almost 4 years ago, and I do realize they are a great academic institution. I realize there are people from that school who hate my school… but there is something about a rivalry, THIS rivalry that just heats me up.

We play them today and despite having tickets I went back and forth all week on whether I wanted to go or not. There is something about being in THEIR stadium and sitting in their crappy stands, paying to park in THEIR lots and having to endure THEIR home fans that I am not good at handling.

The worst part about a lot of rivalries is how close they are, many are in state or in our case about 20 miles away! And I do have good friends who cheer for them, who I some how really still like  despite this flaw (Hi Wendy!)

So today, I am not politically correct fan, adult who happens to work for her Alma mater, employee expected to respect other fans. Today I am the annoying away fan who started drinking at 9 am and is looking forward to cheering hard for my Wolfpack!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 11:09 am

    I know exactly what you mean! I think that kind of extreme rivalry is pretty standard for serious college football fans. I know it’s not reasonable to assume that everyone that went to our rival school is a moron – but I do anyway. :)

Leave a Reply

