Skip to content

Oh Christmas Tree…

November 24, 2010
tags:

(Don’t hate me for posting about Christmas before Thanksgiving.)

We are going to buy our Christmas tree this afternoon. Yes, we are buying our tree before we have even fully defrosted the tiny turkey breast that we’ll smoke but with all of the weekends up to Christmas filled with (hopeful) football games, practices and recruiting obligations I won’t have much time to buy one before Christmas.

Every year I look forward to buying our real tree. I like the smell, I like the act of going to buy it, and I like the act of hunting for the tree with the best shape.

(One year when I was in high school, my family had the equivalent of a Charlie Brown Christmas tree.  I think Albie got to see a little bit of real Katie that year because It was so sad looking and I believe there were actual tears shed over it.)

Besides the fear of ending up with a pitiful tree again,  I do not like the mess it makes in my car, the bribing I have to do to get Albie out to look at trees and the hassle to put it up and take it down. Most of all I hate that I have to look for a new tree every year!

Then I see people’s blog posts with their pretty artificial trees and the ease that you can put up decorations without worrying about strands of lights and I wonder if the real tree is worth it.

Where do you stand on the Real vs Fake Christmas tree debate? Did you grow up with the fake tree and love it’s ease and neatness? Do you love the smell too much to even linger over the fake trees at target? Even better, have you had a Charlie Brown tree that traumatized you too?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:14 am

    I have an artificial tree (a $10 Target.com purchase one February, so I have to LOAD it with ornaments to keep it from looking crappy)… it was one I took with me from the split. If I had my choice, I would get a real tree every year. I love the smell. I think they look a million times better than artificial trees. But I have no way of getting one around, and living by myself in an apartment I just don’t think it’s worth it right now.
    But go for the good stuff! Get a real one!

  2. November 24, 2010 11:24 am

    Real Trees all the way! I found a lot (at the Harris YMCA in Charlotte, NC) that will deliver and put up your tree for NO additional cost. Hence the reason I go back every year!

  3. November 24, 2010 12:31 pm

    I grew up with an artificial tree and loved how each year it was exactly the same :) We got a real tree once or twice and my cat would knock off the needles and it would be such a bother! I love the artificial trees and don’t know why, but each to their own.

  4. November 24, 2010 1:44 pm

    Growing up we had both a real tree and a fake tree. The fake one had the expensive, nice ornaments on it and the real one had the handmade ones. I love going to the tree farm, picking the tree out, cutting it down, and bringing it home.

  5. November 26, 2010 1:27 pm

    Of all the beautiful trees we have had through your life, you pick on the year we got one you didn’t like. But you did help pick it out, they always look diferent out in the field. But I loved taking you kids out to find the perfect one, then the smell of it over the month that followed. I treasure the memory that each ornament means as I hang them on the tree. Our trees have to be big to support all the ornaments from over all the years. Looking forward to seeing how yours turns out this year!

  6. Sarah permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:46 am

    I went fake because of the cost and ease, but I will admit that it’s just not the same. I tried to get a candle that mimics the smell of a tree, but it’s not that constant smell at all time. If you go fake, I highly recommend getting one that is really full (and probably more $). I thought I got a nice one, but every year I have to arrange the branches just right so you can’t see straight through it! I dream of going back to real trees some day, but for now it’s fake all the way!

Leave a Reply

