Skip to content

Our Tiny Thanksgiving Feast…

November 29, 2010

Albie went all out on the menu planning – even though it was just the two of us, he wanted it to be a big dinner. So I stayed with what I know best and played sous chef and occasional stir-er.

I made PW’s herb bread and the sweet potato pie, Albie made the stuffing, the mashed potatoes, the green bean casserole and the smoked turkey breast. I poured the drinks :)

The only cooking issues we had involved me forgetting to “activate” the yeast for the bread so it turned out a bit odd and then realizing that I bought beef stock instead of chicken stock and had to run to WalMart 20 minutes before we sat down to eat.

I didn’t do a big fancy table, but I think it still turned out pretty, just with all that food it looked festive enough!

And yes, you spy the Christmas tree in the background which we bought on Wednesday after work because we planning out the remaining weekend until Christmas and couldn’t see another time – but I wasn’t allowed to fuss over it until after Thanksgiving, so it was there in body but not in spirit.

Finley did a great job of not begging and I think part of that is due to the fact that he was still terrified of all the loud commotion in the kitchen and the tree is up – which he is also scared of. So he stayed in the living room until after we cleaned up and then he got to make his rounds of cleaning up after us on the floor (which we may or may not have “dropped” intentionally):

Hope your Thanksgiving was great too! Anyone else have to run out to WalMart right before meal time?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 2:18 pm

    what a feast!

  2. November 29, 2010 3:15 pm

    Everything looks so good!! :) I’m impressed Finley wasn’t a big-time beggar–my dogs are terrible!

  3. November 29, 2010 6:23 pm

    Looks delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

