Skip to content

My History of Getting into Higher Education…

December 7, 2010

I am supposed to working on my final for my class right now (take homes are always s much harder!!) and since it’s a history of higher education course I couldn’t help but think about my history in higher education…(Are you laughing at my cheesebalness? Yeah me too.)

I thought I was an awesome High School student. In reality I was very, very average. I got A’s and B’s, I did the honors clubs and even band for a few years (eek!), I held jobs, and had a pretty kick-ass boyfriend (hi babe!). My SATs were terrible, like didn’t break 1000 terrible… like I tried it 5 times terrible…

But I still thought I was awesome, thought I could basically pick somewhere reasonable and would get in. Around this time my sweet boyfriend, now husband, really was applying and getting accepted to schools. He didn’t get into one that he had really wanted at the time and I remember being so shocked! I knew his SATs were much higher than mine so I secretly got a little worried, even though in my head I thought my AP courses and extra-circulars would give me that bump.  I feel like at one time maybe I was told “colleges prefer well rounded kids to 1600 SAT scores” so I took that and ran with it.

Albie chose NC State and we spent my senior year with him there and me in high school. I began my applications super early my senior year – I applied to 5 schools with State being my top choice. I knew I wanted to do Business/ Advertising/ Marketing of some kind and applied directly into those programs.

Who knows what ended up being my downfall, and I would like to blame it on a million things other the fact I was completely average, but I did not get in to State. I did not get into “school I’ll apply to because everyone else is”. I did not get into “parents Alma mater”. I did however get accepted to two small private all girls schools. Great – this was not what I had envisioned.

I wanted football games,  I wanted options, and I wanted to be at NC State dammit!

So I started comparing the two tiny all girls schools and weighing my options and it turns out I really did like one of them. I loved it as a matter of fact. They sent me birthday cards, I went on visits and met really great girls who I had a ton in common with and the school was not only in the same town as Albie at State but it was literally right down the STREET!

So I ended up at Meredith College and while I could write entire blog posts about my awesome experiences there and the girls I met, I kinda felt like it wasn’t really for me. I started spending more time at State and made friends there too. I talked to my adviser and carefully made sure that my gpa and courses all meshed with the possibility of transferring.

To make an already long story a bit shorter – I was able to transfer to State. And I actually graduated right on time:

Albie thought he was hilarious

While I was a student I even worked in the admissions office and I remember telling the director admissions one day during my last semester that I was going to frame my rejection letter that was signed by him right next to my diploma.  And although I didn’t keep my word on that end I do still own my rejection letter, my diploma is framed in my office in a house that my husband and I bought with money from jobs working for NC State.

With all that said I think I’ll get back to working on my final….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 9:27 am

    It so interesting how people get to where they are today, and I feel like everything really does happen for a reason. I wish someone would have told me when I was in high school that it would be impossible to predict where I ended up… advice like that would have probably let me live more the in the moment than obsessing about how to get into a specific school.

  2. December 7, 2010 10:35 am

    I think Emily is completely right! Things do happen for a reason! I went to U of Louisville my last choice school on a list of 13 because I received enough scholarship money that I actually got paid to go there. Nowhere else offered anything close. I HATED it at the beginning, but then grew to love it and stayed around for my Master’s! :) It is so weird how life changes happen and we can’t even predict them! Thanks for sharing your story!!

  3. December 7, 2010 9:53 pm

    I did band my freshman year so you aren’t alone! :)

  4. December 8, 2010 2:34 pm

    This is a cool post! It’s interesting to see how people end up where they are today.

  5. December 11, 2010 5:37 pm

    I don’t buy into that you were average! You are amazing! And I am so proud of all you and Albie continue to achieve!! Love you.

Trackbacks

  1. Show Us Your Life: Alma Maters… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

