Skip to content

Holiday Decorations…

December 9, 2010

Today I am linking up with Hooked on Houses and Kelly’s Korner to share my Holiday Decorations. So if you want to share your holiday decorations you should pop on over and link up too!

My big issue with decorating for Christmas every year is that I dread taking it all down. I hate the empty feeling in the house when the tree is gone and I hate the endless trips up and down the attic to make sure everything is situated and put away for next year.

To curtail some of these feelings this year I tried to take something away in place of something I put out so in January I have things that I haven’t seen in a while all around the house again. I know there is no substituting for the tree’s glow/smell and giant space.

Onto the decorations:

This is our ugly wreath that Albie won in some kind of raffle. He was so proud of winning it and it was actually kind of expensive so I put it up to humor him. I used to buy the real wreaths from where ever we got our tree from but our first year in this house I hung it up in between the door and the storm door and it was dead within the week. So we go with this beauty now.

Through the door you can see our tree, and my wonderfully talented editing work to makes sure no one saw their unwrapped gifts early!

Inside our hutch is the place most of my “editing” happened.  I took down some other decorative plates and serving pieces to put up all my fun Christmas ones. People always notice it since the dining room is right in the middle of the house so I do like for it be decorated too!

I always like how simple our mantle is. I bought these stocking from Pottery Barn on the day Albie proposed (obviously I didn’t know he was proposing or else I would have been doing something else like putting more thought into my outfit).

Other tiny hints of Christmas are around the house, like changing out blue candles for red in the living room, adding a teeny tree from pier one in the bedroom (like less than a foot tall), fun Christmas towels in the kitchen and little reindeer salt & pepper shakers on the dining room table.

I’m a big “white lights only” kind of girl when it comes to decorating for the holidays so Christmas decorating is always a bit toned down in our house.  How about yours?

Let me know if you link up over at Hooked on Houses too! I love to peak at other’s holiday decorations!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 10:50 am

    Your decorations are adorable. Totally subtle but festive!

  2. December 9, 2010 11:30 am

    Everything looks great! I think the NC State plates are just perfect!

  3. December 9, 2010 12:03 pm

    Thanks for showing your Christmas decorations! I feel the same sadness about taking down Christmas decorations so this year I tried to do more wintery decorations. We’ll see how much it helps!! :)

  4. Sarah permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:27 pm

    I’m a “white lights only” kinda girl too :( (<- Sad face because my husband is from the north – the land of tacky colored lights and blow up ornaments, and he always decorates the outside of the house when I'm not home to "supervise")

  5. December 9, 2010 10:30 pm

    Beautiful! We only have plain red and white stockings. I want to get some personalized ones someday!

Leave a Reply

