Skip to content

And the Nominees Are…

December 14, 2010
tags:

I have mentioned before how Albie and I have a “Date Night” – once a week we go to dinner and a movie. A lot of times the discussion can ugly over “where do you want to eat?”  I always want Noodles, Albie want’s “spicy” etc etc. But lately the discussion has been more in the air with movie options.

Is it just us or do the movies this year suck? Obviously there have been some good ones:

Easy A, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Toy Story 3, Inception

But The Golden Globes released their nominations list today and they are laughable. They are terrible. Seriously, look for your self. I can wait…

They have “The Tourist” as a Best Picture nomination under COMEDY. Now I haven’t seen this movie because the previews couldn’t even sell me on it, but COMEDY?? Even Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie as listed as nominated actors for their performances in a COMEDY.

They have Burlesque nominated, which Albie has referred to as the dollar store version of Moulin Rouge,  as well movies like Red, which I enjoyed but wouldn’t nominate for anything, and same thing with Social Network.

They have nominated a bunch of movies that I haven’t seen and am having a hard time finding in my area like Black Swan, Blue Valentine, The King’s Speech.

There have even been major misses with us this year – Due Date anyone? Or movies I thought would be good but because of bad reviews we have skipped them like Love & Other Drugs.

Thoughts on the Golden Globe nominations or movies this year? Did I miss some good ones?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    December 15, 2010 11:01 pm

    My thoughts are more on date night dinner rather than date night movie – have y’all ever tried Pei Wei? It’s like a less fancy version of PF Changs. They have noodles, and they have spicy! It’s my favorite restaurant.

    • Katie permalink*
      December 22, 2010 9:21 am

      Albie loves Pei Wei! I need some convincing to go because of my non-adventurousness when it comes to food. But he is a big fan!

Leave a Reply

