Skip to content

Books I’m Looking Forward To…

January 7, 2011
tags:

In keeping with one of my goals for the new year I wanted to make a list of the books that I am excited to read this year.

I already got a jump on my reading list while we were in Florida and I have fallen head first into the Hunger Games series.

These are in the “Young Adult” section, or as my brother pointed out in Walmart they are in the “Teen” section – but don’t let that sway you away from them! These can be very violent and have a  great, unique story line.  I am in the middle of the 3rd book now and I am so glad that I had all 3 at once because once you finish one, you want to pick up the next… I heard they are making these into movies in 2013 so go ahead and jump on the bandwagon now – they are good!

My list of books to read this year is always growing and I try to keep up with it on my Goodreads account but I’ll also add as this year’s blogging book club progresses.

Starting in the top row I have:

Bottom row:

What are you looking forward to reading this year? If you did a post about the books you most want to read this year make sure you have the link to it in your comment! I love getting suggestions for y’all!

Also I would love to know what good books you have listened to lately, I normally like to have one to actually read and one to listen to. I just finished re-listening to the 7th Harry Potter so it needs to be good!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 8:55 pm

    I haven’t done a post about the books I want to read this year, but I did do a post on the books I read last year. http://forthelove-mb.blogspot.com/2010/12/2010-in-review-books.html

    Firefly Lane is on my list too and I want to start the Percy Jackson series. I loved the Millenium trilogy. Can’t wait for Jen Lancaster’s first novel – wonder how her fiction will compare to her memoirs. I have to say – I hated Menonite in a Little Black Dress. Her humor just didn’t do it for me. However, I know many people loved it. Look forward to your reviews!

  2. January 7, 2011 10:04 pm

    Great choices!

    Some of my favorite books that I’ve listened to:
    Look Again, The Lovely Bones, and Lucky

    I really enjoyed all 3.

  3. Lauren C permalink
    January 7, 2011 11:30 pm

    We have quite a few the same. I’ve heard a lit about The Hunger Games so with you reco too I should probably add them to my list. I loved Firefly Lane. I haven’t listened to many books though.

  4. Megan permalink
    January 8, 2011 10:27 am

    I got a Kindle for Christmas and the first book I bought on it was the first book in the Millennium series. I’m looking forward to it, I just need to get sucked into it!
    I still have several real book to read, but I want to try things out on my Kindle first.

  5. January 10, 2011 2:12 pm

    Have you read The Glass Castle or The Book Thief? Those were two of my favorite finds this year.

  6. January 10, 2011 6:43 pm

    So many good books on this list! I love love love Firefly Lane. It was one of the biggest highlights of my reading this past year, truly. I, like everyone else, loved the Stieg Larsson books. Just a word of warning–they’re different than other books because they are translated. It took me awhile to get into the first book, but once I became more accustomed to reading the style of book, I loved them. I’m getting ready to write a post on books myself! :) P.S. Thanks for the heads up on the Jen Lancaster novel! :)

Leave a Reply

