Skip to content

Orlando Trip Recap Part 2…

January 12, 2011

{The first two days of our trip are recapped here}

Day 3:

The third day of our trip down in Orlando was actually Christmas Day and since I am the only one at my office with no kids I volunteered to cover the office all day.

What some people are surprised by with bowl trips is how they really are working trips. I think even I let this slip to the back of my head this time since we were going to such a fun location but even when we went to our bowl game in Birmingham in 2008, I spent a lot of it working. It’s not the regular kind of working that I’d do here in my  office, but it is still work.

Christmas morning started a little later then all the other mornings down in Florida so we got to sleep in a little before heading down to a make shift church being offered in one of the meeting spaces. I was SUPER bummed to learn that they had changed the time of the Catholic mass and we had missed it! But we stuck around and went to the FCA/ Christian service with all the players. It was nice, very relaxed but it did not feel like Christmas so that made my day start out in a funk.

I covered the office all afternoon right up to our team dinner.

The team Christmas dinner is always really nice! Santa even makes an appearance for the kids and gives them books. Besides Santa coming, we all sing the 12 days of Christmas – each group of tables is given a chorus and they have to jump up and sing their line. The players are always so funny and they actually get really into whatever line they get. This year our table was included in the “Nine Ladies Dancing” – that didn’t take long to get that turned into “Nine Table Dances” and all the various movements and jokes that go along with that.

After dinner, my mom and brother were finally pulling into town after a long day on the road and they had brought our little Finley guy! The hotel was dog friendly and we couldn’t have been more excited to have him! After my long day at work his cuddles were very welcomed!

Day 4:

The morning after Christmas we hit the Disney parks bright and early again. We started at Animal Kingdom where we had a character breakfast with Donald set up.

The weather was SOOOOO cold and windy. This day was by far one of the grayest days and unfortunately that still didn’t help the crowd levels. But we kept breakfast quick and we were still able to squeeze in all of our favorite rides. We LOVE Expedition Everest and It’s Tough to Be a Bug.

Despite the cold we still really wanted to fit in the Kilimanjaro Safari. I was nervous the animals wouldn’t be out but that didn’t seem to be the case at all! We must have hit the ride at feeding time because they were all out and playing.

But with this being a quick visit to Animal Kingdom we left for Epcot right after our final ride.

Epcot is were we met up with my mom and brother. We did Spaceship Earth, Soarin’ (my favorite!!) Turtle Talk with Crush, watched Captain EO, Explored the countries and had dinner at the Coral Reef.

One of the new things I scheduled into this trip was the Candle light processional (two pictures from this are on the third row on the right of the pictures above.) I wasn’t sure what to expect since all I had heard was “it’s soo good!” – but it was the perfect thing to make up for missing mass on Christmas Day.

Each night during the holiday season Epcot puts on this show with a huge orchestra and chorus. They have a guest reader come and read the story of Christmas and of Jesus’ birth. We had Edward James Olmos and he was fantastic! It was bitterly cold sitting in the outdoor amphitheater but it was a perfect way to celebrate Christmas!

It feels like I didn’t take a lot of pictures of Epcot, even though I did – they all just kind of look the same. Epcot is one of my favorite parks since it’s geared more toward older kids and Illuminations at night is so pretty!

Next up are our final days in Orlando with pictures from the game and Harry Potter World!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 9:59 am

    I’m so glad your family joined you on Christmas Day!! What does Finley do in the hotel? Do they take him on walks? This is something Rob and I wanted to look into for Rex, but weren’t for sure what services the hotel offers. I loved Animal Kingdom last time I was at Disney. I went to Kenya pretty shortly afterwards and was so surprised that everything was so well done at Disney. Of course it’s not a true safari, but it’s pretty spot on with the experience!!

  2. January 12, 2011 10:24 am

    Fun Fun Fun! Love E-Train and Santa pic!

Trackbacks

  1. Orlando Trip Recap Part 3… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

