Skip to content

Black Swan…

January 13, 2011
tags:

Last night was date night. We saw Black Swan. I cried a lot.

Let me back up…

As I’ve stated before we do a date night once a week, just your typical dinner and a movie kind of thing. Since we go so often we try to see a lot of movies that are not only popular but ones that we might hear alot about during award season. So last night Black Swan made the cut for date night.

I guess I didn’t really know what to expect and I honestly don’t even remember seeing a trailer for it even though Albie swears I’ve seen one. I think I was expecting a weird interpretation of Swan Lake. I knew what kind of actress Natalie Portman is, and she can be kinda odd but I like her.  And yes, the movie is very much an interpretation of Swan Lake.

A very literal interpretation of swan lake. ifyouknowwhatimean…

This movie, creeped me out, grossed me out, and had me covering my eyes for large portions. But I’m not writing a review, and I’m not writing a plot synopsizes. There are lots of those out there and they are for the most part extremely positive toward the movie.

But when the credits started at the end, I lost it. Like full on alligator tears. I cried the whole way home.

Something about the movie really upset me.

Albie kept laughing at me and trying to ask “what’s wrong??” and I kept crying and crying and saying “I don’t know.” And I really don’t know what about this movie made me so upset.

When we got home I calmed down a bit and went to look up some of the reviews of Black Swan and of course I come across these:

  • Rolling Stone: “If visions of sugarplums dance in your head, stay the hell away from Black Swan, a hotblooded, head-spinning erotic thriller…”
  • Box Office Magazine: “Not like any ballet movie you’ve ever seen Bringing psychological horror to the twisted world of an artistically obsessed prima ballerina…”
  • Chicago Sun Times: “Darren Aronofsky’s “Black Swan” is a full-bore melodrama, told with passionate intensity, gloriously and darkly absurd…”

That does not sound like a movie I’d see!! Especially the Rolling Stone review – no thank you! Everyone knows I in fact DO have sugarplums dancing in my head.

Anyway, the consensus I’ve gotten from people who have seen it too is that  they can see where I came from in my overly dramatic response, but they all for the most part liked  it.

I think the jury is still out on whether or not I liked it. I am leaning toward NO, but in fairness to the movie – I think I probably gave the movie people exactly what they look for – a big reaction.

Did anyone else see Black Swan? Am I crazy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 10:04 am

    I’m not sure I want to see this movie! I really don’t like scary movies, and the previews for this freak me out. Kudos to you for going, I think I’d probably start crying and covering my eyes the whole time myself!

  2. January 13, 2011 2:19 pm

    Rob and I saw this a couple of weeks ago. While it’s not a movie I’d watch at home on a Friday night, I did think it was a really good movie in the way that it portrayed Natalie Portman’s character. I felt like I WAS her. Does that make sense? I was so tore up after the movie I could barely drive home. While that’s not the reaction I want from seeing movies all the time–I think about how well the movie was directed/acted/produced to make you feel that way! Totally mixed emotions, but I give it two thumbs up. (creep as all get out, but still two thumbs up :) )

  3. January 13, 2011 7:50 pm

    You are so not crazy! It was unlike any other movie I’d even watched. While I liked it, it definitely creeped me out and had me thinking about it for hours afterwards.

  4. January 14, 2011 4:03 pm

    I am so intrigued. The reactions about this movie are all across the board. As a general rule, I don’t watch horror movies…but it doesn’t SEEM like a horrer movie.

Trackbacks

  1. The 83rd Oscars Movie Breakdown… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

