Skip to content

Let Me Tell Y’all About the Time: I Puked…

January 21, 2011

You know how everyone reminds you to eat on your wedding day? Well I listened to that! I really did!

I started my morning with a run to bojangles where I got my favorite yummy breakfast: A Cajun chicken biscuit with cheese and a Dr. Pepper. (I didn’t say healthy, I said yummy…)

From there I got ready for my Bridesmaids’ Luncheon down at the same restaurant where the reception would be later that day. I ordered a crab cake and had one glass of wine to rinse it all down.

Then it was time for hair, make up and back to the hotel to meet my girls to get dressed before pictures! I wasn’t feeling nervous or anxious. I was so excited!

Pictures down at the beach fly by, and before I know it, we are at the church… and then it was time to go IN to the church. Time to go down the aisle. Time to sit for a very long homily about raising children and starting a family that had both Albie and I squirming since that was something that we told our priest was VERY far into the future.

Then we were back down the aisle and it was time for pictures.

Except now I am very aware of a small headache.

And the smell of my flowers. And the smells of everything around me.

Then I was HOT.

Then I knew it about 20 seconds before it hit me.

I was about to be sick.

And so be sick I was. I puked up everything I had eaten that day. All that food everyone had reminded me to eat was gone. All that effort to not be a complain-y bride was out the window. It was sick, sad, “I puked on my wedding day Katie.”

My wedding party was awesome. I didn’t once overhear how long I was taking or how bored they were (even though I knew – the bride always can tell.) My MOH even got out her croquette needle and unbuttoned all those covered buttons we had worked so hard to button just 2 hours earlier. She and my bridesmaids unhooked that giant “seat belt” in the back of the dress and undid that huge wired strapless bra too – just so I could BREATH. I needed cold fresh air on my skin. I needed space and I needed…. oh no… I needed to be sick again…

Remember when people say to EAT on your wedding day, what they should also tell you is to DRINK WATER on your wedding day.

Turns out, once the nerves/ excitement settled into the lull of picture taking my body decided  it was dehydrated.

I would like to tell you that this type  of thing never happens to me, but the minute it did, I knew it was from lack of water because it happens alot.

Other times I have taken the opportunity to revisit my meals have been at the Warped Tour in 2006, at bars when I haven’t been drinking yet, and after days in Disney World  in 2010. (yeah,  I’m talking about last month. Apparently I never learn.)

So I got sick on my wedding day, I was very late to my own reception, I made the picture taking experience EXTREMELY  long, but I got some of my favorite pictures from that time.

The day was still nothing less than perfect. Once we got to the reception (oh wait, I got sick once we arrived too… in the bushes… in my wedding gown…) we went in to be introduced and do our first dance. I felt weak and we had actually already decided we’d do the penguin sway instead of use the dance lessons we had taken to show off our moves. But I got out on the floor and saw ALL these people that came to OUR wedding. People who were happy for us and I decided to dance what we had practiced. I put on my biggest “I feel like shit but need to enjoy my wedding day anyway” smile and I powered on. I drank water after water. I nibbled on a roll, drank more water and finally started to feel like my self again.

I even thought I had kept it a secret somehow, but people found out and even though you’d think I’d be embarrassed I kinda was over it at that point. Although now it’s actually one of my favorite stories to tell people from that day.

That guy with my veil? He was our best man and we have the chance to go out and celebrate his wedding today! YAY! Congrats to Jenny and Ali!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 10:15 am

    AHH! Thank you so much for posting this so I will remember to not only eat but to also drink water on my wedding day! I am going to forward this to my MOH so she’ll remind me. :)

  2. January 21, 2011 5:39 pm

    Oh no! At least you have a good story to tell! :) Yes, eating on your wedding is SUPER important. I definitely did and was so happy I did!

  3. January 22, 2011 10:22 am

    Dont forget your 21st birthday and your bachlorette party! You do have a track record. Love you baby, in fact I think it did start when you were a baby! Your nick name should be “puker”.

  4. January 24, 2011 8:15 pm

    OMG I am so glad you wrote this!! I will definitely EAT and drink water now. You can’t even tell you were feeling sick – your pics are so sweet and gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

