Skip to content

The Tax Man Cometh…

February 10, 2011

Last night Albie and I filed our taxes. (If thunder rattled outside just now that would be totally appropriate.)

This is something we like to do early and we love to use TurboTax. I am a pro at collecting all the documents in one spot and pouring the cocktails just in time to lock Finley in the office with us while we watch the little green number grow – showing us our refund.

This is how it’s been since we first did our taxes together in 2007. That year we graduated college and were broke. I had  actually only had a real job for 4 months year so we got our couple hundred bucks back and we were thrilled. In 2008 we bought a house and were trying to save for a wedding so when the green number had a chance to GROW by accepting a “housing credit” – I took it! (I needed a way to pay for that fancy honeymoon anyway!)

2009 brought the year we filed “jointly” for the first time and we got to claim my new shiny car. We had purchased Life Time Rights at the football stadium and I had made all kinds of donations to Good Will so that Green number did not disappoint.

Last night was a rude awakening. Due to our multiple vacations this winter, I put off our big donations until January (Mistake #1) then we didn’t make any big tax deductible purchases this year (Mistake #2). This also marked the year that we had to begin paying back that housing credit we took in 2008 (big scary Mistake #3).

Long story short, for the first time we are being welcomed into the “We owed money on our Taxes” club.

And all I am sayin’ is that this club better come with a pretty swanky membership card because this club sucks.

(Side Note/ Disclaimer: This post is not meant to be political, I fully understand and appreciate why we pay taxes – I’m just being a Bitter Besty about having to having to pay lots money to someone else a few weeks before my birthday.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 9:53 am

    I am so sorry, friend! I’ve had to pay before and it is the worst feeling. :(. Last year I had to file five tax returns because I moves states and I had to pay two cities. Worst. Tax day. Ever. Hopefully you didn’t have to pay too much and you’ll get loads back next year!! :)

  2. February 10, 2011 9:59 am

    I hear you! We had the same rude awakening last year when we owed (a year after we got that same homeowner credit)… This year it’s looking like we might get a teeny refund. Being an adult stinks :)

  3. February 10, 2011 10:19 am

    Yikes! So I haven’t been on that side of the spectrum yet, but I’m dreading it when it comes! We’re going to do ours in the next couple of weeks so I’m crossing my fingers!

  4. February 10, 2011 3:59 pm

    hey friend! wanted to let you know i gave you a blogging award! check out my post today to pass it along! :)

  5. February 10, 2011 4:28 pm

    I’ve been frustrated every year post-college for owing money. Mr. Business always says, “You’ve gotta be making money to owe money.” It makes me feel better, and keeps things in perspective!

  6. February 10, 2011 8:28 pm

    Taxes…ugh. They are no fun at all…especially when you have to pay (and I’ve had to do that plenty before). I’m hoping we get a refund this year, but who knows!

  7. February 11, 2011 6:53 pm

    YUCK! I have yet to have pay the tax man, but Dan recently started his own law firm, of sorts, and now we have all the indpendent business taxes things to worry about so we just hired an accountant. Numbers make my head hurt.

Leave a Reply

