Skip to content

Oscar Party…

March 3, 2011
tags:

The culmination of my birthday week was rolled into my favorite awards show of the year – the Oscars!

I started out planning my party by inviting a few friends over Facebook:

I had everyone claim a movie on the wall so that we wouldn’t have duplicates and so people could be as creative as they wanted for their dish.

The menu ended up being:

  • Blue Valentine: Funfetti Cookies with a cute blue heart on them
  • True Grit: “True Grit” Fritters and a “True Grit” Dirt Cake (with a snake!)
  • The Fighter: “The Artichoke Heart of a Fighter Spinach Dip”
  • Toy Story 3: Bagel Bites (for the scenes with Pizza Planet!)
  • Inception: 7 Layer Dip
  • King’s Speech: King Cake
  • Black Swan: Blackened Swan Wings
  • 127 Hours: Trail Mix
  • Kids Are Alright: Fruit Pizza (ya’ know for the gardens and because the moms were um.. “fruity”)

We skipped Winter’s Bone because we couldn’t come up with anything else and I didn’t feel the need to do The Social Network since I invited everyone via Facebook! (har har clever right??)

Here was the house before everyone got there:

House before everyone arrived!

and then….

The house after everyone left!

We stayed up until the end and then even stayed up to clean up. But every though it was midnight I wasn’t quiet ready to let my birthday week end, so I made Finley watch some of the after shows with me:

Thank you again to everyone that came; The food was delish and the company was even better!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 10:11 am

    Love the party theme! Great idea!

  2. March 3, 2011 10:29 am

    Such a fun party! The Oscar Party we went to had white rock candy as meth for Winter’s Bone. I laughed SO hard because they were friends from church! haha! Looks like the party was a success! :)

  3. March 3, 2011 7:36 pm

    Looks like a great time with great food!

  4. March 4, 2011 1:57 pm

    I’ve been in Wilmington for a few days, so I’m just catching up on blogs. Loved this party recap! The food ideas were so cute – and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the “True Grit” dirt cake! How cute was that?

    Also, so glad you had a wonderful birthday! The Revas were awesome, and it sounds like you hit up some yummy restaurants in Wilmington!

  5. March 17, 2011 1:06 pm

    Cute! I love the baby in the cake idea – so fun. I’m such a nut about the Oscars- had to visit to see how your party turned out. :)

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 Oscars… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

