Skip to content

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: Part Two…

March 29, 2011

I’m a day late with my Book Club updates but I wanted to get them up and get my thoughts out there. I had accidentally listened to both Parts 1 & 2 at one time since it wasn’t clearly marked on the CDs I am listening to but it flowed so easily I also didn’t really want to stop!

{ Part One Recap is HERE }

This part of the book was cute to me since they were finally getting married and she was planning her wedding. I have SEARCHED the internet for pictures of their wedding and haven’t been able to find any which is a huge bummer. Anyone been able to find some?? I’d love to see!

I love that you all had the same thoughts that I did last week – something about her not working and not using Marlboro Man’s real name is maddening! (Yay for my friend MC asking the question about what she does all day!)

I think it’s so funny how someone who shares so much of their lives can still leave us with so many questions and thoughts.

From Samantha:

What did you think of Marlboro Man’s proposal? How would you feel if you were proposed to like that?

  • I hated his proposal! Haha… I mean I know it wasn’t mine – and I know each couples gets the proposal that works for them but it drove me crazy! I wanted him to get down on one knee and make i t more then a fly by the seat of his pants conversation on the way out to take Mike to the mall!

She wrote a lot about never riding in a pickup truck before and how she used to judge girls who rode in the middle. After being with Marlboro Man she felt differently and actually wanted to ride in the middle. How do you feel about that? Have you ever judged somebody and then after learning more, regret that you had judged them?

  • Oh yes! I am a judgy person (sorry, just being honest.) I end up regretting I judged someone or something a lot of the time. With the truck thing, I can see where she was coming from although riding in the bench is also referred to riding “b!tch” so it’s not something I’d envy of someone else!

From M.C. Bracey:

After their first fight, did it make you question if Marlboro man was the one to give up everything for, or was Ree willing to do it because it was easy when everything else seemed hard?

  • I think their first fight was interesting – because if they were that passionate about each other and about life you would think that they would have fights frequently, not as a sign of a bad relationship but because I think passionate people go full out on a lot of stuff.  But to answer the question I do think that Ree seemed to be willing to give everything up pretty easily and I think it all came at a good point in her life when it was just the escape she needed.

Do you wonder what Ree is doing all day? How is she financially making it? Is she really just waiting around all day to meet up with Marlboro man at night?

  • You know how I feel about this! I complained about this in my last post and Mary Clare and I have talked about this – This aspect drives. me. crazy!!!!! She had to have held SOME type of job – even though she said she had savings from LA left over, I would go stir crazy!

Would you let your now husband duck out of your reception to watch a football game?

  • I can tell you that as a college football fan I know better then to even schedule a wedding during football season. That is a big no-no in my book. But some people love fall weddings and who can blame them? But, yes – I would have flipped my lid if my new husband wanted to watch a game during our reception.

From Erin:

So many embarrassing things have happened to Ree in front of Marlboro Man. What is the most embarrassing story that comes to mind when you think of embarrassing things that have happened to you in front of a significant other?

  • Oh lord, is this even appropriate!? I embarrass my self all the time. After ten years of being together, 4 living together, he’s seen it all! I burp, fart, p0op, throw up, get drunk, talk too much, spill things, break things, cry over EVERYTHING, and just generally act weird some days. The most embarrassing behavior I have though must be my actual – full blown- temper tantrums that still come about sometimes. They are not becoming of a young lady, that’s for sure!

How would you have reacted to being around for the prairie fire?

  • I think I would have been curious about it too, but after being out there and riding with some man I didn’t know I think the entertainment value might have run out for me too. The second my life was threatened like her was, I’d been stomping back to the house too. I will not judge her for her behavior on this one – I’d have been a big ol’ baby.

From Rachel:

There have been so many funny little stories along the way in the book. What has been your favorite? Any favorite lines?

  • Because I am not actually reading it and I am listening to it I think my favorite thing is hearing her read it. I get her inflections, her pacing, her accent and her feelings.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 6:54 am

    I am laughing at your temper tantrum comment!

    And I totally get you with the judgy thing. I often judge way too quickly. One of my worst habits.

  2. March 29, 2011 7:36 am

    I’m sure listening to the book on CD and hearing Ree read it gives it a whole new dimension. I have to admit I’m kinda jealous. :)

  3. March 29, 2011 7:53 am

    HAHA! I loved all your comments. I felt like I was actually with you hearing you say them!

  4. March 29, 2011 8:03 am

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who hated the proposal! And your answer to the embarrassing question is so funny. I feel the same way, I actually didn’t even answer this question because I knew that there wasn’t enough time in the day to even begin to go over the things that I’ve done to embarrass myself in front of my husband.

  5. March 29, 2011 10:03 pm

    Ok, maybe you know this and are just annoyed with her not using his real name in the book, but I just finished the book and read the back flap…it says “Ree lives on a working cattle ranch near Pawhuska, Oklahoma, with her husband, Ladd, and their four children.” :)

    • Katie permalink*
      March 29, 2011 11:36 pm

      Haha, See I get her voice inflections but miss the good info on the back flap!

Trackbacks

  1. Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: Part 3… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

