Skip to content

My MeMe…

March 31, 2011
tags: ,

Editing to Add: Thank you all so so much for your comments and thoughts! Y’all have been so sweet and thoughtful!

Today I am at my MeMe’s memorial service so I don’t have a lot that I want to blog about.

 

My MeMe in 1941 at 17 years old

My Meme lived in Pennsylvania my whole life and actually couldn’t come to my wedding. She was a funny lady who was in a lot of pain near the end, to hear her say that she was “Having a great time” the last time we talked was really sweet. Here is an excerpt from her Obituary that ran this week:

Jean Maddock Anthony, 87, of St. Davids, passed away on Thursday, March 24, 2011.

She was the wife of the late Victor Todd Anthony; mother of of Stacy Merrigan of Nottingham, Gary Anthony of Wilmington, N.C., and Karen DeRiemer of West Chester; grandmother of Christine Miller, Matthew Merrigan, Katie Lange, Greg Anthony, Anna Anthony and Christian DeRiemer; great-grandmother of Anthony Miller; sister of Louise Holmes of Lower Gwynedd; and daughter of the late Percival and Lovina Maddock.

Mrs. Anthony attended National Park Junior College, graduating in 1942, and Ogontz Junior College, graduating in 1944.

She was an avid golfer at St. Davids Country Club, and loved playing bridge and spending time with family and friends.

She was a longtime member of the Wayne Presbyterian Church.

Jean’s family would like to thank the caring and compassionate staff at the Neighborhood Hospice.

Relatives and friends are invited to attend the memorial service at 11 a.m. on Thursday, March 31

 

My MeMe in 1974

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 8:25 am

    thinking of you today. greg looks so much like her!!

  2. March 31, 2011 8:32 am

    Im sorry to hear about your loss. Your MeMe was a pretty lady.

  3. March 31, 2011 9:19 am

    So sorry for your loss. She looks like such a spunky lady. I find it so hard to watch our parents lose their parents… may your family find happiness in the wonderful life she lived!

  4. March 31, 2011 9:39 am

    So sorry about your grandmother. I love the pictures you shared – she seems like she was a fun lady! I know she’s missed.

  5. March 31, 2011 9:42 am

    Sorry to hear about your loss. Thinking of you today!

  6. Mrs. Business permalink
    March 31, 2011 1:18 pm

    What a beautiful lady! I’m so sorry for your loss. Thinking of you all.

  7. Lindsey T. permalink
    March 31, 2011 1:21 pm

    Hope everything went well this week. You look so much like her!

  8. April 1, 2011 4:43 pm

    So sorry for you loss but she sounds like an amazing woman!

  9. April 2, 2011 4:59 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your MeMe. I only have one Granny left and I love the sweet spunkiness grannies have! :)

Leave a Reply

