Skip to content

Wine & Design…

April 5, 2011

This past weekend I had the awesome opportunity to make it out to the opening night of Wine & Design in Wilmington!

I had actually read about something similar to this company on someone else’s blog, who lives in Texas, and thought it looked so cute and fun that I googled for opportunities to do it near me. I found this company based out of Raleigh and wanted to fit in a time to try it before I moved but didn’t get the chance. Lucky for me they were actually in the middle of opening one here in Wilmington and after a sweet twitter/blog friend told them I wanted to come I scored an invite to their opening night. Opening night was mostly for the media so it was set up like a private party – which they do a lot of!

Basically wine and design is an art space that encourages you to drink a little wine, relax and take home a hand painted canvas! In the owners’ words: At WINE AND DESIGN, all you have to do is sign up, show up, sip up! Your canvas, paints, paintbrushes, and corkscrew will be waiting as a local artist helps you create that night’s featured painting. You go home with new friends, great memories, and a newly-created masterpiece that shows off your “inner artist.”

I am not a painter by any means so I showed up a bit early to sit in the parking lot and watch the other people start to arrive. Once I felt like they all looked nice enough and non-threatening I went in too. I was told to sign in and grab an apron and a glass of wine.

The actual class started at 6:30 so getting there around 6 was smart to settle in, get a drink down and find an easel with good lighting. The room looked intimidating with all these white canvases, since I am not that creative so the idea of a blank canvas can be unsettling, but upon closer inspection I was thrilled to see that they had been pre-traced the design for that night! This made it a lot  less scary!

Here is the progress of my little crab from tracing to end:

And then here is me with my final product:

Now wait – before you say “Katie! That looks so so cute!”- no, please look at what it was supposed to look like and what the actual teacher painted:

The original painting on the RIGHT, her painting that night on the LEFT

Yeah, mine looks nothing like the original or the teachers yet I still kinda love it. I liked my color mixing and even though it’s not perfect I was still pretty impressed with my self. Albie’s response to a texted picture of it was this:

Pardon my awkward punctuation, it’s a new phone and I had been drinking wine. Just notice the smart-ass-ness.

Overall I had a great time.  While I was there I just kept picturing all the people I knew would love it too:  My friend Anna in Chicago, my friend Laura in Raleigh, My mom would love it, I might even convince Albie… I just knew friends of mine could really enjoy this. It’s not stuffy. It’s not based around rules at all. They give you paint on a paper plate, a mug with water, a plastic cup for your wine, and a pre-traced canvas. For $35 you can’t get a more cute and fun night.

Please look up Wine & Design if you are in North Carolina to find one near you, or if you are in another state search paint parties in your state. They are such a fun idea that do private parties, pet nights, date nights etc – so fun!

Full Disclosure: I did get this whole experience for free due to the specific night they were hosting and had invited me to. I was not told to write a post – I did  this post because I honestly loved this and thought y’all might too! The thoughts, opinions, and experiences are mine and mine alone.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cait permalink
    April 5, 2011 10:00 am

    Your crab looks so good, Katie! I want to do this soon, it looks like a lot of fun! :-)

  2. April 5, 2011 10:17 am

    So fun! I’ve always wanted to do something like this! I’ll have to see what options there are in Columbus!! P.S. I think your painting looks great–nobody has to know it doesn’t look like the original. ;)

  3. April 5, 2011 2:57 pm

    That sounds so fun! What a cute idea!

  4. Christie permalink
    April 5, 2011 9:12 pm

    hahaha the texts, this is why I love you guys :) Glad you’re finding fun things to keep you busy in Wilmington!

  5. April 8, 2011 9:59 am

    Where is this located in Wilmington? I went to their website, but they did not list an address! I think this would be perfect for The General and I!

  6. April 8, 2011 11:36 am

    I’m so glad you went and enjoyed it! Your crab is super cute – forget about how it’s supposed to look! When I went, I came home with (what I thought was) a pretty flower painting. Mr. Business immediately confiscated my painting so he could “hang it in his office.” I found it two weeks ago, hiding behind his office door. Apparently he was worried I’d hang it in our house!

Leave a Reply

