Skip to content

Priorities…

April 13, 2011

I have officially been living down here in Wilmington by my self for three weeks. The house been on the market for two and  half. The amount of showings we have had is pitiful but the job interest for Albie is even worse…with all said I think we have been adjusting pretty well!

One of the things that keeps me excited and looking toward the future is starting to look for a house again. I have been excited to have a chance to get something maybe a bit bigger, with a garage, close to work, good area etc. But after talking to Albie when he came to visit this week I think I should maybe scrap all my saved searches and think about my priorities first. So let me talk it out…

The truth is that there are a whole lot of places in this world I want to visit. There are a whole lot of drinks to be drunk, clothes to try on and vacations to be had. I don’t like being on a budget. I am not ready for children yet and am even flaking on the second puppy idea.

So Albie reminded me that yes, while we could afford a big pretty house with huge yard and 2 car garage in a fantastic area that would mean a whole lot more nights spent in, meal planning, and local vacations. It would mean less fun clothes and smaller gifts.  So is this important to me? Do I want to be happy while I drive to my big house park in my clean garage then go sit inside and stare at my beige walls all night?

Would I rather live in something a bit smaller, a bit more on the “10 year” plan vs the “Forever” plan? I think my answer is yes.

Maybe my priorities  are wrong to be that I want to a) Travel, b) Go out on dates with too many drinks and too much food, and c) Buy more overpriced clothing and shoes. But I can’t help but feel like  if we start down the path of the ultimate family house before we’re ready to fill the house with family then I’d be cheating my self.

So while I have been itching to do posts on house inspiration and decorating ideas I think I need to step back and check my priorities again, maybe I’ll even find something that helps me compromise without sacrificing? Have y’all had luck with this idea?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 1:53 pm

    ohmylord–i’m pretty sure you are right in the middle of the discussions rob and i are having!! we just made up a dream list of places we want to travel to before we start having babies….being a grown up is so hard!!

  2. April 13, 2011 7:53 pm

    just discovered your blog, so I’m really nobody to be giving you advice :) But I don’t think you should feel bad about staying true to your priorities for the life you want to live. I think it’s great that you’re looking at how your choice of where to live will impact the quality of HOW you live (ability to travel, go out, etc.). Way too many people don’t think these things all the way through, I think :) Good luck!

  3. Anna permalink
    April 19, 2011 1:54 pm

    Right there with you friend!! Hope Chi-town continues to be on that list every couple years at least :)

Leave a Reply

