Skip to content

Bitten…

April 22, 2011
tags:

…by the travel bug of course!!

In all seriousness between reading other people’s vacation recaps, honeymoon recaps, and vacation planning chatter from friends (Have a blast in Mexico Becky!) I am lusting after the idea of hopping on a plane and checking off some “Places to See”.

My list of places to see is LARGE my friends, and I have them broken down into separate mini vacations in my head. I don’t have a time line but I do know I want to mix it up. Who wants to do Europe every year for 5 years?? No, I would want to rotate vacation destinations… you know once my budget is feeling fat again that is.

So here are my dream vacations that I am currently NOT planning (insert sad face here):

  • Europe: London & Paris
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Europe: Spain (Barcelona) & Austria ( Salzburg & Vienna)
  • California: San Francisco
  • Australia
  • Safari in South Africa
  • Hawaii
  • Europe: Italy (All of it. Just all of it.)
  • California: San Diego
  • Europe: France (All of it. Especially the countryside.)
  • Texas: Austin, Dallas & Houston
  • Japan
  • Road trip from NC to CA with Finley :)
  • Greece & the Mediterranean
  • California: Napa & Wine country
  • Tahiti

whew…. think I can budget and do 1 trip a year until I’m done? Then I can just go back and visit my favorites or go to really far places off the map.

Either way I want to travel right. I want to stay at tiny cute hotels that still have good showers, and eat EVERYTHING. I want to drink wine and see art that I’ve only seen in movies. I want to rent ridiculously tiny cars in Europe and I want to butcher the French that I spent years trying to learn. I want to get lost, take too many pictures and get confused on how much currency something equals in American dollars. I want to check off a few more states here in America and I want to visit friends who live far away. Some how I’d also love to fit in fun trips to Disney and weekends to Chicago. Maybe even see some new football stadiums that we haven’t been to away games yet too.

I also don’t want to wait. I want to do all of this while I can still hike up to the tops of buildings and stay up late for one more glass of wine. I also want to avoid traveling during  the time in my life where shoes with supportive soles are needed for long days on my feet.

We’ve already been to Mexico, St. Lucia, The Keys, Savannah, LA, Boston, NYC, Charleston, Chicago, New Orleans etc… Just enough to know that we love to travel and want to do more but not enough to say we’re “travelers”.

Anywhere you think my list is missing?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 11:13 am

    Brazil is missing! You *must* go there in your lifetime. No place like it! I want to travel too… but the real world calls :(

  2. April 22, 2011 12:45 pm

    Greece is absolutely on my must-see list, as well! I think you should add in a little jaunt over to Bora Bora if you’re making the flight to Tahiti–SO gorgeous! And, that’s where you can stay in an over-the-water hut! That would just be a dream come true for me! I also LOVED Switzerland when I was in Europe–so clean and fresh! The Alps are amazing. And, I’ve never been but I’ve heard amazing things about Croatia. Maybe a little too weird for me. :)

  3. April 22, 2011 1:52 pm

    I absolutely want to go to Paris, too! We are talking about possibly going in the fall! :)

  4. sunmakesmesmile permalink
    April 22, 2011 6:35 pm

    It’s simply not possible to have a bad picture from Hawaii. Oahu has aaaa-mazing views from everywhere, it is literally “from the mountains to the sea” there. Paul and I are considering Tahiti next (“the land of happy people”). As I was reading your list I was mentally putting a check mark next to many of the same locations on my dream list. I hope you’re able to visit all of these places :)

  5. April 25, 2011 9:43 am

    I’ve only been to two of the places on your list – Greece and South Africa. Both were amazing, and I hope you don’t skip either. There is nothing like a safari in Africa! I studied abroad there, and it is the most amazing place I’ve been. Greece was also incredible – I vacationed there for almost three weeks, and you can really see most of the country in a lot less time than that! My favorite island was Hydra – very small and quaint. I can’t wait to see where y’all visit next!

Leave a Reply

